Southern Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Lose the egg and use milk instead (better yet, buttermilk). Add more seasonings! There is no way 3 tablespoons will give you 1/4 inch of oil in the bottom of a large fry pan, and, as another reviewer mentioned, a good southener would never use olive oil for fried "t'maters". From a transplanted Alabamian...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
my boyfriend was a cook in a really nice southern restaurant, and he dipped them in milk instead of egg and fries them in canola oil. I think they come out a lot better without the 'eggy' taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
OMGOODNESS! I think the cornmeal adds a little crunch to this normally soggy side. I love them this way. This is always how I make fried green tomatoes. I use some salt and pepper, too. Try this: dip the tomato in egg then flour then egg then cornmeal. If desired, add the salt and pepper to the flour. YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
A good Southern cook knows that OLIVE OIL would drown the flavor of Fried Green Tomatoes! YUK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This recipe needs tweaking for us. I fried one, using Canola Oil, and tasted it, then added garlic salt, onion powder, and garlic pepper to the cornmeal mixture, MUCH better with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Wonderful recipe! All I added was salt and pepper, and changed the oil to vegetable cooking oil. I didn't measure it, just poured it in the pan and used what I needed. When I was finished, I addedthe egg/milk mixture to the remaining cornmeal mixture; mixed it into a dough, formed small cakes with it and fried it in the same oil the tomatoes were fried in. YUM! My husband loved it! This was the first, and only recipe I'll ever try. It is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Sadly, I have to agree with some of the other reviews. The Olive Oil overpowers the delicate taste of the green tomatoes and the smoke point of the Olive Oil does not allow them to get crispy enough. The cornmeal is good, though. It's authentic in parts of the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
You have to start with the right tomato. Saucing or juicing tomatoes just do not fry, bake or stew well. You need fleshy, meaty tomatoes- not the ones filled with seed pockets and juice. Don't expect supermarket tomatoes to fry well. They've probably been frozen and will be mealy. Get your green toms from your garden or a farmer and view the cut open flesh."Big Boy" and "Beefsteak" are two types that fry well when green. I salt the slices to drain off some of the moisture and bitterness before I bread or batter them. Some folks like the acidity and use buttermilk to increase it. Fried green toms are considered a southern "curiosity" but it's really just a variation on the centuries old fried eggplant and tastes almost identical (Try a few sprinkles of basil, oregano and Parmesean cheese on the toms!). I fry my green toms in olive oil (not EVOO) and/or other oil blends, depending on the flavor I want. Traditionally in the south, bacon grease or lard would've been used to fry 'em in, and I sometimes go with tradition. I find Olive oil, garlic and Toms are "naturals" together. Buy when the price is low and freeze them. They can be preped, breaded and frozen on sheet pans or waxed paper, then bagged and fried from the freezer, just like eggplant or Okra...try green tomato "chips" from your dehydrator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2001
No one in my family liked this dish. Perhaps it's an acquired taste. It was easy enough to make however, I had to double the egg and milk to have enough. I would suggest frying in vegetable oil since olive oil tends to burn easily if it gets too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
This was a basic but yummy recipe for a favorite in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States