Southern Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2001
No one in my family liked this dish. Perhaps it's an acquired taste. It was easy enough to make however, I had to double the egg and milk to have enough. I would suggest frying in vegetable oil since olive oil tends to burn easily if it gets too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
I never "ate" fried green tomatoes until I became an adult. I made your recipe! I offered my boyfriend some and he said, "No!" I ate all 6 slices myself, including the last one in the batch that I sort of bured! Thanks for the quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
This was a basic but yummy recipe for a favorite in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
A good Southern cook knows that OLIVE OIL would drown the flavor of Fried Green Tomatoes! YUK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This recipe needs tweaking for us. I fried one, using Canola Oil, and tasted it, then added garlic salt, onion powder, and garlic pepper to the cornmeal mixture, MUCH better with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
the cornmeal took away from the flavor as well as the texture of the green tomatoes. Not the best coating to use for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This is the way my mom made fried green tomatoes when I was growing up. It was a delicious dish and brought back good memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
my boyfriend was a cook in a really nice southern restaurant, and he dipped them in milk instead of egg and fries them in canola oil. I think they come out a lot better without the 'eggy' taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Yummmm- Just like my Mama used to make! I don't use as much breading, I really try to shake off as much as I can. Also- us Southerners love that salt! We sprinkle way too much salt on these babies! Execellent recipe- thank you Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
OMGOODNESS! I think the cornmeal adds a little crunch to this normally soggy side. I love them this way. This is always how I make fried green tomatoes. I use some salt and pepper, too. Try this: dip the tomato in egg then flour then egg then cornmeal. If desired, add the salt and pepper to the flour. YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States