Southern Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I grew up in rural Alabama, and the most authentic way to make this is simply buttermilk-SELF-RISING cornmeal + prpper-canola oil. The green tomatoes have such a unique, clean and crisp flavor, I don't think it needs additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I absolutely love fried green tomatoes. I did change a few things. I used milk only (no egg). I also didn't use the flour just cornmeal (sweet cornmeal). They came out so crunchy with thick batter. mmm, so good. Then salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Sadly, I have to agree with some of the other reviews. The Olive Oil overpowers the delicate taste of the green tomatoes and the smoke point of the Olive Oil does not allow them to get crispy enough. The cornmeal is good, though. It's authentic in parts of the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
GREAT....glad to see someone else uses olive oil, much healthier! I added a little onion powder, salt and pepper to my milk/egg mixture for flavor, and half Italian bread crumbs/half corn meal. Very good, the Italian bread crumbs give a bit more flavor. So I guess I made the "Italian Fried Green Tomatoes"...also used zucchini - YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA HUME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Wonderful recipe! All I added was salt and pepper, and changed the oil to vegetable cooking oil. I didn't measure it, just poured it in the pan and used what I needed. When I was finished, I addedthe egg/milk mixture to the remaining cornmeal mixture; mixed it into a dough, formed small cakes with it and fried it in the same oil the tomatoes were fried in. YUM! My husband loved it! This was the first, and only recipe I'll ever try. It is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This was good. I added salt and pepper to the flour but it definitely needed more. They were a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYHOLLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Lose the egg and use milk instead (better yet, buttermilk). Add more seasonings! There is no way 3 tablespoons will give you 1/4 inch of oil in the bottom of a large fry pan, and, as another reviewer mentioned, a good southener would never use olive oil for fried "t'maters". From a transplanted Alabamian...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
We had these with BBQ chicken and roasted corn for July 4th. I added a little salt and used canola oil but these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
OMGOODNESS! I think the cornmeal adds a little crunch to this normally soggy side. I love them this way. This is always how I make fried green tomatoes. I use some salt and pepper, too. Try this: dip the tomato in egg then flour then egg then cornmeal. If desired, add the salt and pepper to the flour. YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States