Southern Fried Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
It's the only way I make green beans anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
We loved these green beans. However, next time I would drain off some the bacon grease. I added sweet onion chopped fine & after it was all sauteed, I simmered the beans with a lid on pan soften (about 5 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Delicious! Very easy to make. My husband went for seconds and asked me to always make our green beans this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Very good did add a splash of apple cider vinegar, fresh ground pepper, and garlic salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I used precooked bacon and then added some unsalted butter to make up for the bacon grease that was missing. I used frozen whole green beans and this turned out well. It was a little sweet but not obviously so. This was really good and I will definitely be fixing this again with fresh green beans the next time. This is a wonderful way to showcase those summer beans fresh from the garden. Thanks I really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
These turned out great! I've been trying to make green beans that tasted anywhere close to the way my grandmother made them (she's from KY). This was the closest I've gotten. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. No left overs! My brother even asked for the recipe, which he's NEVER asked for before. Simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I had never fried the green beans. It was AMAZEgood, but prolly not that good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red_Hott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These were delicious and so easy! I didn't have any bacon but I did have the pre-made bacon pieces and they worked just fine. You could add garlic and onions or whatever you wanted to this. Thanks for an easy solution to boring old green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These were yummy. I used 1/2 tablespoon of sugar and added a onion. I didn't get the caramelized cause I added a can of green beans without draining cause I got ahead of myself. So had to cook the water down a good bit but still turned out great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States