Southern Fried Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
ive made these three times now. green beans seem to be about the only veggie my family wants as a side lately. the second time i made them i deviated from the recipe a little bit. i used less bacon ( 2 strips i snipped with a scissor) and i added a splash of bottled italian dressing. makes sort of a sweet and sour green bean. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Awesome - I'll never just heat up a can of beans again!! The first time I followed the recipe exact (half for only 2 people), second time I added a chopped up fresh mushroom and some sliced onions. The extras will probably be added from now on, but this recipe is fantastic. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is exactly what everyone says it is. Easy, quick, and absolutely yummy. I did like most said and cut the sugar to 1 teaspoon and it was fine. I didn't add onions because our guest doesn't like onions. I will add them next time and I bet it'll be even better. It was FINE without them though. MAKE THIS Y'ALL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Delicious!!! I hate canned green beans, but my family loves them so to compromise I make this and it goes over well with the family and Myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I had to leave out the sugar, but thought this was a good solid green bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
My family loved this recipe. I did however use less sugar that suggested (my grandmother is diabetic). Still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
simply the bomb! My mom made them like this since forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Southern Fried Green Beans Haiku: "Pretty tasty beans! Can't go wrong with the bacon, which I left chunky." I didn't dice my bacon, as I'd prefer it less like baco'bits, and more like bite-into-it-bacon. Also added some minced garlic too. This was a nice way to dress up canned green beans (which I'd normally eschew for fresh or frozen), but ultimately, I was pleased w/ this as a side dish to finally finish off a lonely can that I had hiding in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I have friends and family that only like canned green beans. This is a wonderful way to dress up the ho-hum! Suggestion: Cut back a little bit on the sugar and use smoked thick sliced peppered bacon. The sweet/spicy thing is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttkc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
O. Wow. These beans are sooo yummy. I grew up with mama growing & canning our beans, and now my husband and I do the same, so my entire life I've eaten green beans at least once a week :) I dont know why it's taken me this long--I'm 27--to figure out this is the best way to make them! I gave it four stars for the changes I made, but it got my wheels turning and is a great recipe by itself. I cook the bacon, put it aside to drain (then I drain off some fat depending on how much is left), cook very thinly sliced onion in the bacon fat for a few minutes. THEN I add the sugar--Brown Sugar! I let it cook and caramelize a bit, then I add the green beans, partially drained and the bacon that I've crumbled. I like it in still fairly large pieces. Really...these are awesome, and I make them very very often. My husband and I struggled to eat a jar before...often I would throw half out. Now, we eat it ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States