Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
As authentic as they come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
Delicious! My husband won't stop bugging me to make this more--but thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This was THE best fried chicken I ever had. I have tried lots of recipies but none turned out as good as this one. I revised it alittle I cooked it in a deepfrier I used boneless skinless breasts, instead of a skillet and I sorta marinated the chicken in all the ingredients but I added garlic salta little old bay seasoning and paprika YUMMY!! and i made it very crispy and ate it at room temperature, I suggest u try this its a really good recipe THANKS CINDY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is a fabulous recipe, excellent tasting crispy chicken and doesn't take a rocket scientist to cook. I do have some additions,like others, adding 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp onion powder. I also mix it all together with the flour in a plastic ziploc bag then pour it into a glass pie pan to dredge. If you want Popeyes style chicken, add 1/2 to 1 tsp of cayenne pepper to your flour mixture. I also always use a hint given to me by a wonderful elderly black southern lady; 20 minutes before cooking your chicken, place in a bath of ice water and pour a liberal amount of salt in and let it sit. This helps with those icky blood vessels than can appear in or near the bone. Finally, I never ever "quick cook" chicken. I have fried chicken for years, giving it up for health reasons, but have found 45 minutes of cooking time are needed especially for dark meat pieces and I repeatedly turn my chicken every 10 minutes or so to evenly cook, cooking the last 10 minutes at around 325 degrees (I use an electric skillet) to keep from burning the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
752 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I always have a hard time making fried chicken...something always seems to go wrong. NOT THIS TIME. I loved the way that this turned out and the hubby loved this. He went back for seconds within minutes. The only thing that I did differently was to add just a little bit of garlic powder to the flour mixture. No more KFC when we want good fried chicken....Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
AWESOME Chicken - thanks Cindy!!! We absolutely loved this. I took the advice of other readers and added 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp onion powder and 1 tsp ground red pepper (cayenne), and it made an AWESOME addition. Also, I did soak the chicken in ice cold water for 20 minutes and it worked!... there were NO veins near the bone. Thanks for the advice - we will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
Works great with boneless/skinless chicken breast too --!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
my mother and father loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This turned out very tasty,actually I cooked it in a deep fryer.Very simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLEGHOST

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I was craving fried chicken and thought to look up a recipe. This was AWESOME. My husband and kids are not great chicken lovers but they demolished this. added just tad of ground red pepper to hubbies chicken and he thought it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States