Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Can anyone give a helpful hint as to how to keep the flour mixture on the chicken? Mine came off in the oil as it always does and so there is no coating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2034 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is a fabulous recipe, excellent tasting crispy chicken and doesn't take a rocket scientist to cook. I do have some additions,like others, adding 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp onion powder. I also mix it all together with the flour in a plastic ziploc bag then pour it into a glass pie pan to dredge. If you want Popeyes style chicken, add 1/2 to 1 tsp of cayenne pepper to your flour mixture. I also always use a hint given to me by a wonderful elderly black southern lady; 20 minutes before cooking your chicken, place in a bath of ice water and pour a liberal amount of salt in and let it sit. This helps with those icky blood vessels than can appear in or near the bone. Finally, I never ever "quick cook" chicken. I have fried chicken for years, giving it up for health reasons, but have found 45 minutes of cooking time are needed especially for dark meat pieces and I repeatedly turn my chicken every 10 minutes or so to evenly cook, cooking the last 10 minutes at around 325 degrees (I use an electric skillet) to keep from burning the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
815 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
From a southern girl, let me tell you this is the real thing! As someone else points out, soaking the chicken in ice water with salt is very important. Also, for those of you who had the flour fall off the chicken while cooking, that comes from not allowing the oil to heat properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
798 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Beautiful! Beautiful! Beautiful! The chicken came out crisp and golden, while remaining wonderfully moist! The smells alone drew my teenage brothers away from the video games! (A magical feat as far as I'm concerned.) I too was always intimdated by frying chicken. My oil was always too hot and my batter never stuck. I always rinsed the chicken in water then just rolled it in flour. This time I took another reviewer's suggestion and did an egg wash. Amazing! Overall everything was to die for and I will DEFINATELY be using this recipe again! I used boneless skinless breast instead of boned chicken and took the advice of another reviewer and added 1 tsp. of garlic powder and 1 tsp. of onion powder. Thumbs WAY up on this one! Thanks to the poster and helpful reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I made this last week for the entire family. My dad ate 3 pieces and said he hadn't had chicken that good since he was a kid. I used an electric frying pan so I could control the temperature and so I would have a lid to cover with. I did take the advice of another reviewer and soaked the chicken in salted/ice water for 20 min so there would be no veins. It worked and we thought it may have helped to improve the flavor of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This was THE best fried chicken I ever had. I have tried lots of recipies but none turned out as good as this one. I revised it alittle I cooked it in a deepfrier I used boneless skinless breasts, instead of a skillet and I sorta marinated the chicken in all the ingredients but I added garlic salta little old bay seasoning and paprika YUMMY!! and i made it very crispy and ate it at room temperature, I suggest u try this its a really good recipe THANKS CINDY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is half of the recipe. I would add two stirred raw eggs in a bowl. Rinse chicken, season with pepper, lawrys season salt, garlic powder a sprinkle, dip in flour, dip in raw egg, then dip back into flour, put chicken in skillet now, flip 6 times 10 minutes on each side. Now thats some REAL southern FRIED chicken! Thats what I call SOUL FOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatiagra
Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This recipe is fantastic! I was afraid of frying chicken in oil because I'd never done it. But I needn't have been afraid. I had no trouble with the coating coming off during frying. I followed the recipe as far as temperature, also soaked the chicken in cold salt water as one reviewer suggested and cooked it for 45 minutes as another ssuggeted. I used half Crisco and half vegetable oil. Turned out great and everyone loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flowerladytoo
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Excellent recipe! I tried this with boneless/skinless chicken breasts and it came out crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. Made it for two, so I cut the recipe in half and added a tbsp of garlic powder (we really love garlic). Highly recommend this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
great fried chicken! I have always been intimidated by frying chicken. I usually marinate it overnight in buttermilk, use a purchased coating, and deep fry it. It turns out burnt and you can't taste the coating. I really wanted to make a good fried chicken so I came to Allrecipes once again. This recipe seemed almost too simple and plain. I did add garlic and onion powder like the others. I didn't even use an egg wash, just double-coated the chicken pieces. I probably cooked the pieces 40 minutes or so. The coating was crispy, and you could actually taste it!!! My family loved it, too. I am just thrilled that I made GOOD fried chicken!!! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States