Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
As authentic as they come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
Delicious! My husband won't stop bugging me to make this more--but thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This was THE best fried chicken I ever had. I have tried lots of recipies but none turned out as good as this one. I revised it alittle I cooked it in a deepfrier I used boneless skinless breasts, instead of a skillet and I sorta marinated the chicken in all the ingredients but I added garlic salta little old bay seasoning and paprika YUMMY!! and i made it very crispy and ate it at room temperature, I suggest u try this its a really good recipe THANKS CINDY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This fried chicken recipes was a huge hit with my whole family and it was so simple! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Although I am a seasoned cook, I have rarely made "Fried Chicken". It was always way too high fat for my family. Now with Low Carb being the way to stay healthy, I tried this fried chicken recipe (I just subbed Low Carb soy bake mix for the flour). I cooked 10 minutes a side and the outside of the chicken was VERY dark brown and the inside was still raw. I decided to cover and cook til it got to correct temperature;which took another 15 minutes or so. It was tasty, but not the best fried chicken I ever had;it was a lttle "rubbery" and yet moist.? I will have to make a few more trys, to get the technique and timing right, I guess. I just wish the recipe had given a little more info (esp. approximate timing) for us frying chicken "novices". AND ... WHAT do you do with all that leftover grease with all the burnt flour bits in it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
Works great with boneless/skinless chicken breast too --!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I always have a hard time making fried chicken...something always seems to go wrong. NOT THIS TIME. I loved the way that this turned out and the hubby loved this. He went back for seconds within minutes. The only thing that I did differently was to add just a little bit of garlic powder to the flour mixture. No more KFC when we want good fried chicken....Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
Very good. I did add a little garlic powder and onion powder to the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I have made a very similar recipe from my Texas Dad for many, many years. My only little update is that I add ground thyme and sage to the flour. I also make the cream gravy but use evporated skim milk to keep it little healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Very good !!! I DOUBLE-BREADED & ADDED " EMERIL'S " ORIGINAL SEASONING TO THE FLOUR...THE FAMILY LOVED IT !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States