Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Very authentic fried chicken recipe! Definately came from a true southerner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4-5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainbow City, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My first time cooking chicken that did not burn or cook unevenly - I used the suggestion of soaking the chicken in ice water and salt for 20 minutes. I also added garlic salt and onion powder as seasonings. I was skeptical about covering the pan at first but it actually makes the chicken very tender and juicy as well giving the chicken a gorgeous crispy brown coating. I made this Saturday night and again on Sunday night and it was a big hit! Highly recommended even for novice cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Outstanding results. The only change I made was to sprinkle paprika over the floured chicken as my grandmother taught me that paprika is essential to browning meats. I also floured the chicken, laid the pieces on paper towel for about 10 minutes then floured a second time. I do that with all meats as it seems to help keep the flour on the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I made this exactly as printed and this was sooo very good! My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Absolutely fantastic fried chicken! I also added garlic powder to my flour base. Heating the oil to the right temp extremely important. NONE of the flour mixture came off after doing this. LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Great recipe. For you guys who like the white meat try soaking it over night in sweet milk. Makes it very juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Excellent Recipe! Born and raised in the south, you'd think I'd know fried chicken, but I never mastered it until now! thank you!!! The first time I tried this the coating was beautiful but for some reason it was too soggy and not crispy...tonight I tried again...making sure my oil (1/2 Crisco-1/2 Oil) was good and hot and not covering the chicken!!! It was perfect! My husband was asking for more!!! Other tips...the salt bath soak does wonders for removing the blood beforehand...I also use a combination of adobo/soul seasoning/garlic powder/black pepper, and it came out tasting so similar to KFC I was shocked! Beautiful!!!! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffstuf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Delicious! I add a bit of garlic powder to the flour for flavor. Easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Torymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Made this chicken this evening and it was astounding...added the extra spice that most others did and also some cajun seasoning...great chicken, also did the ice bath thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Frying always seemed a labor-intensive process to get unreliable results. That said: This was some easy and tasty chicken. To get flour to stick, I dip the rinsed, dried pieces in a whisked mixture of 1 cup milk and 2 eggs; toss it in a bag of the flour coating and tap off the excess flour; pop it straight into the hot grease and cover the pot quickly. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States