Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
To the generations of Alabama cooks who passed this recipe and Cindy Thank You , I rarely eat fried chicken but your recipe made me try it and it is the Best Fried Chicken I've ever had, even my dog went bananas over it. Easy and finger licking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is half of the recipe. I would add two stirred raw eggs in a bowl. Rinse chicken, season with pepper, lawrys season salt, garlic powder a sprinkle, dip in flour, dip in raw egg, then dip back into flour, put chicken in skillet now, flip 6 times 10 minutes on each side. Now thats some REAL southern FRIED chicken! Thats what I call SOUL FOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatiagra
Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Excellent recipe! Instead of just salt and pepper I added Creole seasoning and extra paparika. The other reviews on here were also very helpful! Especially the one about putting the chicken in ice water and salt to get rid of the veins, it really worked, wow! That is a hint I will use for the rest of my life! I also followed other reviewers and let the chicken sit for a few minutes after dredging it in flour and then put it in the flour again right before frying. If you like a thick fried breading, this is the way to do it! Also, to make sure my oil was at 365, because I have a gas stove and no thermometer, I heated up my pan of oil in the oven at 365 and then put it on the stove with a medium flame. I didn't have any flour coming off the chicken as it went into the oil. I waited about 8 minutes before turning the chicken, and then after another 8 minutes I turned it again, so I did turn the chicken a couple of times, but it came out fine. I was just worried about burning it, but it came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Trick to keeping skin is to properly heat the skillet before you put chicken in. I would say at least 10 min. on the stove. And then you must sear the chicken for 5-10 minutes. I then cover and simmer for 25 min. (turning once).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
this is basic recipe very good try adding paprika garlic powder onion powder oragino cayane pepper salt and pepper to flour and bone in skin on is the best for flavor cook in cast iron skillet OMG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This is the basic way to cook southern fried chicken. Self-rising flour can also be used and you don't need the paprika to have good fried chicken. Back in the day, Crisco shortening was used for delicious fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Unbelievably good. I also soaked the pieces in salted ice water, my grandmother told me that trick long ago. I soaked thighs and drumsticks only for about an hour. The key to getting the flour to stick is to let the chicken sit for a little while before you fry it. And also, double dip the pieces. Shake them once in a large plastic bag, and let them sit for about a half hour. The flour coating will look like it's almost being absorbed by the chicken skin. Then right before you put the chicken pieces into the hot oil, dip or shake them again. VERY crispy and delicious. Husband didn't even stop eating to comment, he just tackled the drumsticks then moved on to the thighs. I cooked six pieces and managed to snag one thigh. I think that is a resounding endorsement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mittens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Its good fried chicken, cant go wrong here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyisblessed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My Boyfriend was impressed with how well the breading stayed put. Delicious and easy. I followed everyone's tips (ice bath, shaking chicken with flour in a paper bag). Next time I'll add lots more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States