Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Salt, pepper, smoked paprika and rolled in RICE flower. All on a paper towel. Put in deep fryer while assembling salad. Couldn't have found a faster way to have fried chicken - was wonderful. Hardly any clean up other than paper towels! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
After the 1st batch flopped because the flour fell right off, we tried mixing the seasonings into an egg. This kept the flour on but there was less seasoning on the chicken. No flavor to it, even with the 1st batch. Big flop of a recipe! No idea how generations could pass down this recipe. It's not worth it in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cross-stitchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I've never really tried frying chicken cos I always seemed terrible at it but this one was fantastic and tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I can't believe how delicious this was last night. I changed it a little because I used chicken thighs, cumin, salt and pepper (ran outta paprika). I also decided to try the icey salt water before hand as many reviewers mentioned. Then, I decided to brine it for a couple hours since it was already in salt water. I also used a viewers idea of letting the flour sit on the chicken for a half hour and then shaking it again. I don't know what variable was the key or if they all were key but this was the best fried chicken I have ever eaten let alone made myself. Yummy and simple. Just wish I could eat it more but it is def not low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My Family just finiched this for dinner. While we were eating my husband looked at me and said the skin on this is perfcect. Um i used boneless skinless chicken breast. He didn't believe me i had to show him the package. I took advice from others and added garlic powder, onion powder salt and pepper to the flour, and also seasoned the meat before putting in the flour. I got distracted with the kids and overcooked the chicken but it was still good. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I just finished making this & cleaning up the greasy mess it made on my stove. It was crispy and looked nice but it did not have any flavor. I did the ice water bath for about 45 mins, floured the chicken, put it in the fridge and dipped in flour again right before I put the chicken in the pan. I don't think it was worth all the work. Might be better if you put some spices in the flour. I like my over fried chicken recipe better, tastes better and no greasy mess to clean on my stove. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Made this tonight with pink waffles for Valentines Day...substituted boneless, skinless chicken breast and added some cayenne pepper. Hubby & I loved it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
my family loved this chicken, I did a few changes as other before me, did a egg wash, add garlic powder onion, and left it in salt and water for some time before frying. I used a electrical fryer, it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by derabeja

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Udine, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Thank You!! I CANNOT make good fried chicken, but now I can thanks to your simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Excellent deep fried chicken. By using vegetable oil there is very little to no oil absorbed. I did marinate the chicken in buttermilk w/Old Bay Seasoning and a bit of garlic seasoning for about an hour (because I like it marinated), then dipped in seasoned flour mixture, let the chicken 'rest' on a rack for ab. 10 min. then fried. Yum. This recipe is in my favorites and have used it several times. Also, because it does not absorb the oil it is great cold for lunch/dinner the day:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States