Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I used half oil and half vegetable shortening to fry the chicken and the skin was the crispiest ever! I used 6 large chicken thighs and there was way too much coating. I think I will make only half or a quarter of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This is the first time I fried chicken! It was amazing! I used some chicken tenderloins I had purchased, so the cooking time was only about 7 minutes. I also used coconut oil to fry them in. It was perfect! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truebluekat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Loved it! Easy, quick dinner. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made this last night and it was delicious! As others reviewers suggested, I soaked in ice water with salt for about 15 minutes while I prepared everything else. I also added a few suggested spices. I mixed all of my spices together and rolled the chicken in that before dredging the flour. I used salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika and cayenne pepper (we like it spicy!). Once dredged in flour, I let it rest on a wire rack for about 10 minutes so the flour and spices wouldn't just fry off and stick to the pan. I fried in an electric skillet at 360 and turned it very often (about every 5 minutes). I used only drumsticks because that's what we like. I cooked it 30 minutes and it was spicy, crispy and cooked to perfection. I will definitely be using this recipe from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
My kids enjoyed this recipe and it was very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
It was a very bland recipe. Without having exact measurements to use there is a lot of guess work involved. I had to add a tablespoon of seasoned salt and a teaspoon of garlic salt to even get some taste out of it since regular salt didnt do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I only fried breasts of the chicken in a cast iron skillet with canola oil, letting it heat up for a long time, I think this is key. As suggested I did do the 20 min ice water brine, also added a bit more spice to the flour and on the chicken. I fried the breasts about 30 minutes, flipping every 7 to 10 minutes. Turned out crispy and brown on outside, juicy on inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjoy222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
The only things I do differently is dip the pieces of chicken in a mixture of egg whites & a little milk before I flour them but I repeat that step twice so that they get double breaded and the crispy coating stays on so superbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunnidavis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Excellent recipe. I did what a few others suggested and added more spice such as garlic powder and onion powder after letting it sit in the salt water rinse for 20 minutes and draining all the water out of the pan. I added the salt pepper and paprika as well. Then I did the flour dip which I added italian seasoned bread crumbs too, then into the egg bath, then back into the flour dip. These were big thighs so I heated the crisco shortening with vegetable oil on medium high - high while I was prepping the chicken. I cooked each side for 5 minutes before flipping it and flipped them 2x each for a total of 20 minutes cook time and they turned out amazing! Check the photo out :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate Esteban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Great recipe. Never been able to make good fried chicken, the batter always fell off! But using this recipe and others suggestions, the chicken was beautiful!! Following others suggestions: did an ice water bath with salt, then added a few extra seasonings to the flour mixture. Gave chicken (I used drumsticks) a good few shakes in flour mixture using ziplock bag. Let sit for about 20 mintutes. Dipped chicken in 2 eggs whites & 1/4 cup water, then put back into ziplock for a few more shakes. Let that sit for 15-20 minutes. Heated oil while waiting on chicken during that 15-20 minutes, that way I knew oil would be hot enough. Cooked legs about 15 minutes. They were perfect! Will definately make again. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States