Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
It was a very bland recipe. Without having exact measurements to use there is a lot of guess work involved. I had to add a tablespoon of seasoned salt and a teaspoon of garlic salt to even get some taste out of it since regular salt didnt do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I only fried breasts of the chicken in a cast iron skillet with canola oil, letting it heat up for a long time, I think this is key. As suggested I did do the 20 min ice water brine, also added a bit more spice to the flour and on the chicken. I fried the breasts about 30 minutes, flipping every 7 to 10 minutes. Turned out crispy and brown on outside, juicy on inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjoy222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
The only things I do differently is dip the pieces of chicken in a mixture of egg whites & a little milk before I flour them but I repeat that step twice so that they get double breaded and the crispy coating stays on so superbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunnidavis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Excellent recipe. I did what a few others suggested and added more spice such as garlic powder and onion powder after letting it sit in the salt water rinse for 20 minutes and draining all the water out of the pan. I added the salt pepper and paprika as well. Then I did the flour dip which I added italian seasoned bread crumbs too, then into the egg bath, then back into the flour dip. These were big thighs so I heated the crisco shortening with vegetable oil on medium high - high while I was prepping the chicken. I cooked each side for 5 minutes before flipping it and flipped them 2x each for a total of 20 minutes cook time and they turned out amazing! Check the photo out :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steelhorse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Great recipe. Never been able to make good fried chicken, the batter always fell off! But using this recipe and others suggestions, the chicken was beautiful!! Following others suggestions: did an ice water bath with salt, then added a few extra seasonings to the flour mixture. Gave chicken (I used drumsticks) a good few shakes in flour mixture using ziplock bag. Let sit for about 20 mintutes. Dipped chicken in 2 eggs whites & 1/4 cup water, then put back into ziplock for a few more shakes. Let that sit for 15-20 minutes. Heated oil while waiting on chicken during that 15-20 minutes, that way I knew oil would be hot enough. Cooked legs about 15 minutes. They were perfect! Will definately make again. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Not much flavor in the basic recipe, but with garlic powder, onion powder, more paprika, a pinch of this, a dash of that... It took 3 tries, but by the 4th chicken leg, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Great recipe that you can play with and add to and season to your liking! For the person who is having trouble keeping the coating on the chicken. Make sure your oil is Heated good and hot before placing the chicken in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was great for my little one. He doesn't like chicken much, but loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littleaton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
excellent recipe for real southern fried chicken, i actually ate a chicken leg and loved it, I usually eat white meat only. only modification I made was replace the paprika with a generous amount of msg (accent), if you are not allergic to it it won't hurt you. I didn't add garlic and all that other stuff, that's northern fried chicken like people here in maine make, true southern frien chicken is made with flour, salt, pepper, and msg. Self rising flour is a must, or liberally add baking powder to your flour. Dip your rinsed wet chicken in beaten egg than roll in flour which you may add more salt and pepper (you can never use too much msg) according to your tastes. re dip in the egg and once more in the flour and do not put it into a frying pan till the oil is 350 degrees. with an electric you need 48 oz oil for perfection. fry legs and thighs for at least 25 minutes, turning frequently to prevent overbrowning, do not pierce the chicken use tongs. fry breasts a total of 30 to 40 minutes. When your chicken is dark golden brown it's readu test with a thermometer to be sure, should be 165-190 in the thickest part. This coating will make the juciest chicken you ever ate. If you want, experiment with spices and make a good northern fried chicken, but if you want REAL deep south soul food fried chicken you use only salt, pepper and msg. And if you are not allergic to msg it's perfectly safe, it's glutamate made from corn. Good luck and bon appetite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This recipe is mediocre at best. And for better chicken, use Peanut Oil.. Better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States