Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Absolutely the BEST that I have ever made! One of the key steps in the flouring, is to do it twice; once before you fry, and then after letting the CRISCO come to temperature, (about ten minutes or so), flour it a SECOND time just before you put it in the frying pan. The time per side ( fifteen minutes) was PERFECT! It came out crisp on the outside, moist and tender on the inside. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nello

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
A hint with the breading...let the chicken sit in the fridge for 30 or so minutes AFTER you bread it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I used half oil and half vegetable shortening to fry the chicken and the skin was the crispiest ever! I used 6 large chicken thighs and there was way too much coating. I think I will make only half or a quarter of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This is the first time I fried chicken! It was amazing! I used some chicken tenderloins I had purchased, so the cooking time was only about 7 minutes. I also used coconut oil to fry them in. It was perfect! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truebluekat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Loved it! Easy, quick dinner. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made this last night and it was delicious! As others reviewers suggested, I soaked in ice water with salt for about 15 minutes while I prepared everything else. I also added a few suggested spices. I mixed all of my spices together and rolled the chicken in that before dredging the flour. I used salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika and cayenne pepper (we like it spicy!). Once dredged in flour, I let it rest on a wire rack for about 10 minutes so the flour and spices wouldn't just fry off and stick to the pan. I fried in an electric skillet at 360 and turned it very often (about every 5 minutes). I used only drumsticks because that's what we like. I cooked it 30 minutes and it was spicy, crispy and cooked to perfection. I will definitely be using this recipe from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
My kids enjoyed this recipe and it was very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
It was a very bland recipe. Without having exact measurements to use there is a lot of guess work involved. I had to add a tablespoon of seasoned salt and a teaspoon of garlic salt to even get some taste out of it since regular salt didnt do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I only fried breasts of the chicken in a cast iron skillet with canola oil, letting it heat up for a long time, I think this is key. As suggested I did do the 20 min ice water brine, also added a bit more spice to the flour and on the chicken. I fried the breasts about 30 minutes, flipping every 7 to 10 minutes. Turned out crispy and brown on outside, juicy on inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjoy222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
The only things I do differently is dip the pieces of chicken in a mixture of egg whites & a little milk before I flour them but I repeat that step twice so that they get double breaded and the crispy coating stays on so superbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunnidavis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States