Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Just perfect. Very tasty and simple, just what we were looking for in fried chicken. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Hubby won't stop talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy DuBois

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Coming from a true carolina girl..this is your basic real way of good fried chicken...but if ya like yours a lil more crispy...just add some crushed corn flakes to your flour batter...and some garlic salt..yummy....just a helpful hint for yall that like it more crispy :.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a very good recipe. Only thing I added was a dash of garlic powder not salt. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I have been doing this for forty yearss, and everybody still loves it, thanks johnny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is a great basic recipe. I found marinating the chicken overnight gives it much more flavour. In my blender I mix fresh garlic, green onions, fresh thyme, salt and pepper, coat the "skinned" chicken and let it sit for at least 5 hours. The other trick I use for keeping the flour on is to add some bacon fat to the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Good recipe but I followed other suggestions on the spices to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Missouri, USA
Living In: University City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Recipe was definitely plain. Made three pieces of chicken by this recipe, with a bit of added white pepper. I deep-fired three legs at 365 degrees for 17 minutes, turning once, and had slightly burnt skin so I'd cook it just a little less. Very crispy the second time (360 degrees for 15 minutes), a lot different than I expected, but delicious. However, I am excited to try this tomorrow with more White Pepper, Paprika, Salt, Garlic Powder, and a little Creole seasoning that adds wonderful flavor in a small amount, and the kick doesn't overwhelm the chicken. Not a bad recipe, but it needs improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is what makes me such a fan of good old southern cooking! This recipe is excellent as is, and you can add to it as well - It's a very flexible recipe. Depending on who I am cooking for, I might add garlic salt, cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, and onion salt. No matter what you add though, the chicken comes out nice and crispy on the outside, and juicy and tender on the inside. It took awhile for me to learn, but if you let the oil heat up to the specified tempurature, the coating won't fall off. Another alternative is to use a deep frier. The oil tempurature is most important. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Great! I tried frying as well as baking. Both came out very good, but I think I prefer the Baked one. 30 min at 375 degrees, turning a few times to get both sides nice and crispy. transferred the chicken onto clean foil so it wouldn't soggy on one side sitting in grease and continued baking. Added 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper; 1 teaspoon of crushed red pepper (ground up a little more in my magic bullet); 1 teaspoon of garlic powder; 1 teaspoon of onion powder; about 10 saltines crushed. shook everything up in a large zip loc. Also, I Very LIGHTly coated the chicken with egg yolk before putting in a zip loc... I might try adding potato flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aegibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States