Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Not bad! Very easy to make! I think I was worried about it being cooked all the way through, so I kept it in the oil a hair longer than I should have. So definitely follow directions! I also let the chicken sit in the bag of flour (after washing them off) for about a half hour, then dipped them in egg, and in flour once more prior to putting them in the iron skillet. This definitely helped with the coating (that I used to have trouble keeping on the chicken when it cooked). My boyfriend LOVED it! This recipe will certainly be a mainstay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lavendula

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
This recipe is quick to make and very delicious. The best part too is that if you buy enough you can cook it all up and have cold chicken leftover. YUM...The only thing I didn't like about it was the mess it left behind with all the oil in the pan. Makes for a messier clean up that's for sure. Great tasting chicken though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
For anybody having trouble keeping the batter on, try coating the chicken in egg after seasoning and then coating it in flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I got a real good scald on the chicken. And this was the best fried chicken I have ever tasted or made for that matter. I will be using it again. The key is to let the oil get hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Mohr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paw
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Very easy recipe and delicious. I've made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Super easy. I also dipped my chicken in eggs before coating with the flour. And used a lid on my pot.. Will make again for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Walters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This is the way my mom made fried chicken. It's simple and good. I prefer to use more spices (white pepper, cayenne, poultry seasoning) and you could soak it in buttermilk ahead of time. But it's okay without all that. I would say to anyone having trouble with the crust, your oil isn't hot enough and/or you are moving it too much (don't flip it more than once.) Also if you are burning it, you probably aren't using a heavy enough skillet. I was taught ALWAYS to fry in an iron skillet, it distributes heat equally, but if you don't have one use the heaviest one you've got. Get an iron skillet though, they are cheaper than most skillets and they last a lifetime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Beautiful and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I used this recipe to fry some chicken for the first time and he is HOOKED! He asked me to fry more the very next night. Lol I def saved this to my book thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I have been looking for a simple fried chicken recipe and I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly McElrath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States