Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paw
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Very easy recipe and delicious. I've made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Super easy. I also dipped my chicken in eggs before coating with the flour. And used a lid on my pot.. Will make again for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Walters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This is the way my mom made fried chicken. It's simple and good. I prefer to use more spices (white pepper, cayenne, poultry seasoning) and you could soak it in buttermilk ahead of time. But it's okay without all that. I would say to anyone having trouble with the crust, your oil isn't hot enough and/or you are moving it too much (don't flip it more than once.) Also if you are burning it, you probably aren't using a heavy enough skillet. I was taught ALWAYS to fry in an iron skillet, it distributes heat equally, but if you don't have one use the heaviest one you've got. Get an iron skillet though, they are cheaper than most skillets and they last a lifetime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Beautiful and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I used this recipe to fry some chicken for the first time and he is HOOKED! He asked me to fry more the very next night. Lol I def saved this to my book thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I have been looking for a simple fried chicken recipe and I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly McElrath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Fantastic my family loved it and say its the best they've had. I used a deep fryer but did everything else as per recipe. A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Riddiford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
At first I was concerned about putting a cover over the chicken during frying hoping it wouldn't make the skin soggy, but no, THE SKIN CAME OUT CRISPY, CRISPY!!! I turned the heat on high when the chicken was placed in the pan in order to not have the chicken cook in slightly cooled oil, then the heat was lowered to a HEALTHY low flame, the chicken then covered and was cooked 15 minutes on each side checking to see if any coloring was needed. The onion and garlic powders and cayenne didn't come through so next time I'll adjust for flavor. This will be my go-to recipe/method for making chicken no matter the recipe. Soon I'll be using the presented method for making Maryland Fried Chicken with cream gravy where nutmeg will be used both in the coating and in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Gian Banchero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Roll the chicken in buttermilk before you roll it in the flour that way it will stay on in the oil. You can also use milk or an egg that's beaten but buttermilk works the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yelmy
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
It's soo good my husband loved and it's super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States