Southern Fried Chicken Strips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Wasn't bad but i wish there was some more details for us newbie fried chicken cookers like how how the heat because if to high it burns very easy it also didn't have as much flavor as I was hoping for and the breading kept falling off. I liked the fact it used up ingredients I had laying around like open packs of crackers and potato flakes, since I no longer make instant potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I was looking for a Fried Chicken Strips Recipe to make for my born and raised in North Carolina boyfriend and this was it! I didn't have potato flakes, so I omitted that ingredient. I cut my chicken breasts into pretty narrow strips so they only needed about 5 minutes on each side in the cast iron skillet, which was filled 1/4 way with Vegetable Oil. The Oil should be at about 350 degrees, it is important to fry in a good hot oil but not to the point of smoking. I seasoned the flour with salt, pepper, a little cayenne and garlic powder. After dipping the strips in the flour, then in the egg and then in the crushed saltines, I noticed some bare spots on the chicken so I sprinkled bread crumbs over the top which filled in the gaps. After frying they were SO moist on the inside, and CRUNCHY on the outside. This was a great recipe, and its a keeper, thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is my 1st review! These chicken strips came out really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this last night and it was a hit! I did make some changes: I did not have dry potato flakes, so I crushed some plain potato chips instead and used about 2 tablespoons of that. I also found that one egg was not enough, but you could probably go with 1/4 cup of flour as I had plenty of that left. Finally 1/4 cup of vegetable oil was not near enough; maybe if you were using a very small pan, but for my large pan I used a cup or more (you want the chicken about half submerged in the oil). Not a health-conscious meal, but it is delicious and pretty easy to make. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVMANTOO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this recipe and it was delish!! The only variation was I used applesauce crackers(store brand ritz crackers) instead of the saltine. Crispy crunchy and tender. So good. Didn't even need any sauce to dip them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
THE best I've ever made! I didn't have any potato flakes so I just left them out, added a touch of garlic powder, they turned out great! This recipe is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imcrystal1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I almost cried when I took my first bite :-). Signed up just to say this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
The kids will love these as well as the adults. Simple and easy and perfect served on greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is the first review I have ever left and that is because this recipe is perfect. The only thing I would do differently is double the recipe. I was only able to bread two large chicken breasts. Also, I did not have potato flakes so I used some panko flakes that I had instead. Aside from that minor change I did everything the same and it was a hit! I am going to use this as my go to fried chicken breading regardless of boneless or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Having not been raised in the south, I often get teased by my children because I can't fry chicken. This recipe changed their mind and gave me a confidence boost! I forgot the potato flakes, but they were awesome anyway. I will add them next time! I don't usually rate recipes, but when I do, you know it's a good one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States