Southern Fried Chicken Livers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Great recipe ! I devised a solution to your spatter problem ! The water inside the livers are what causes it to spatter when it hits the hot oil. After rinsing the livers in the colander I placed several layers of paper-towel in a large bowl and put the livers on top, then placed several layers on top and covered with seran wrap and let it sit in the fridge for an hour. Once they come out they will be relatively dry (accepting the dredge more easily) and won't spatter at all. Hope this tip helps !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helios Alatza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Cooked these for lunch today. My livers were frozen and needed to be cooked. I definitely will not freeze them again, will always use fresh in the future. These were good, but something missing in the taste. May have been because they had been frozen. Otherwise this is good recipe. I will definitely try again and add hot sauce or cayenne next time. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Finally a good chicken liver recipe! I tried this and served it to my family and they enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I love chicken livers and make them a lot for my family. I have made them like this often but I have another way I also like them and thought I would share it. I like to cut them into bite size pieces and then dip them in flour then egg and then seasoned breadcrumbs. I then fry them in a pan with oil like you would fry chicken. I make sure to fry them until they are nice and golden brown. After, I put them on a dish with paper towels to soak off any excess oil and let them cool a bit. They taste delicious and still have a nice crunch on the outside but yet still soft and yummy on the inside. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
i must say, I LOVE THIS. My Mother Used To Cook Chikin Livers And Put Them On Rice,I Hated Them They Were Dry. I Now Cook These At Least Twice A Week,SO JUICY THIS WAY!!. I Too Add Hot Sauce.Thanks PAUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middleborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
To prevent popping, I dry mine well after rinsing. Then I cut a slash on both sides of each rather than just piercing the livers. And always use a screen. I don't dip in egg or milk, but let natural liquids bind the flour to keep popping at a minimum. I also add Panko crumbs to the flour mixture. The key to popping less is to keep them as dry as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yorkiepowered

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I hadn't eaten chicken livers in YEARS. I stumbled upon this recipe and decided to try it. It took me back to how my mom used to make them. They were absolutely fantastic. We hauled out the deep fryer and followed the recipe to the letter. There wasn't a single chicken liver left. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
It's quick, easy and simple. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I don't eat livers but my bf does he cleaned his plate and asked for leftovers for hiss lunch. They must be good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I love liver and onions, so I figured I'd love this. Unfortunately I felt like there was too much batter on such a small piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States