Southern Fried Chicken Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I've been craving chicken gizzards since having them at Harold's Chicken and ice bar. This recipe is awesome. The outside crispy. The inside tender and flavorful. Can't wait to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerry Lewis
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Yes, a must do recipe.. Will be making these again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C. Adele “Carrie” Williams
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
it was ok,extra boiling time definitely helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by seven_berries
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Great recipe! I followed the recipe but I used a little seasoned meat tenderizer and only boiled them for about 45min. Great flavor and my kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I have made chicken gizzards for a lot of years, but when I found this one, I now feel there is none like it. Soooo good & talk about tender. Bub, Vt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Sadly I found this recipe way to salty and the gizzards were use as a vehicle to transport the flavor of the seasonings and by doing so lost their own flavor. Although these gizzards were very tender after boiling for 2 1/2 hours, I just feel the flavor of the seasonings overpowered the gizzards .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I never liked gizzards but being from the south everyone eats them. They have always been tough chewy and tastless. I made them this way and they are so tender crispy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. This will definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I will never fry gizzards without boiling them first after eating these. It was amazing!! I hate chewy gizzards, its like eating gristle...I left out alot of the seasonings and used cornmeal/flour mix instead of just flour. Very crispy and the breading sticks so much better. The trick is cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I tried this recipe for my first time ever making gizzards (my husbands favorite). It was such a hit that I couldn't fry them up fast enough! My kids, husband, and his friend gobbled them up! Next time will probably at least double the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Tender! Brown til crispy! Don't underfry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States