Southern Fried Chicken Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These were awesome!!!!Very tender. I don't like Gizzards but I loved these. My husband is a gizzard eater but he thought these were amazing. Could not quit eating them. They were all gone and we wanted more. We are thinking about using bread crumbs to bread them next time though. The flour did not stay on very well during frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My family loves gizzards. This recipe is the only one I have found that does not leave you with chewy gizzards. Thank you for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newhall, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Yee-Haw! These are perfect! Since you only fry the gizzard for a minute or so, it's imperative to boil first to get the flavor and tenderness. I cut gizzards in half before cooking, and use House of Autry Chicken Breader (Publix) to coat. Batter sticks best if you bread them right after the boil, then wait a minute and shake on a second coat. I also sprinkle hot sauce after fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
EXCELLENT.I USED PRESSURE COOKER FOR ABOUT 10-15mins FASTER WAY TO MAKE IT TENDER :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Best gizzards I ever ate.We followed the recipe except left off the ranch dressing.Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Really good! Very tender. I did have to add more salt after I cooked them. And I slathered mine in hot sauce but everything else I kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Loved it! I made a Chipotle Hot Sauce to go with it for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Bodyroc McGlown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by boese_kuenstler25
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Used it with Hearts as well. Really good. Just wish I knew how to get more batter to stick on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boese_kuenstler25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: East Jordan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This recipe is incredible. I made it for my family and they were blown away. Now I cant make them any other way. I urge you to try this recipe. There is no way anyone will be disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I used what I had on hand. I put onion powder, celery salt, bay leaves and boiled the gizzards. I then used the seasoned salt, garlic powder, celery salt, black pepper, sage, and hot sauce. I then dipped them in a egg wash and tossed them in flour then deep fried. They were so tender. Thanks bunches for sharing. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States