Southern Fried Chicken Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. I have been eating fried gizzards all my life and part of the fun is the chewiness of the gizzard. I would make again for someone who can't chew well but as a true Southerner I like the chewy side of things. I do heavily season and boil gizzards when I make dirty rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERYNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Wow!! I didn't have some of the ingredients for this recipe, so I improvised. I've never made gizzards in my whole life and this turned out AMAZING! Follow this recipe at heart and you cannot go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaeli
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I've only really cooked gizzards using flour and seasoning like the second phase of this recipe. I never would have thought to precook them but it really seemed to tenderize the pieces as much as they can be tender. Addictive to eat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Fourqurean

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I really liked the "chew", not too tough but still a lot of character. I read the reviews and some said that simmering for 1.5 hours was enough, so I split the difference and simmered for 2 hours. I removed the gizzards from the simmering pot straight into a zip top baggie, then added the marinating ingredients and marinated, then just dumped the 1 cup of flour in when I was ready to deep fry; I couldn't see the sense in removing them to a dish to marinate only to dump them into a baggie to flour them. I liked the lightly crunchy texture that the simple flour dredge gave them. I ate quite a few of these while watching the game, as did a friend. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
TENDER & TASTY! Ok, I never bother to rate recipes although, I pull many off of this site. But I HAD to let you all know that this is an excellent recipe. I grew up on fried chicken gizzards, being from TN, we actually had a restaurant near Nashville that specialized in fried gizzards. These are tender & delicious & much BETTER than what I grew up on! I mixed a dipping sauce, which I have never tried with gizzards, which I used Sour cream, garlic powder & Crystal hot sauce. I was seriously, scooping every last drop out of the bowl with my last gizzard. I will NEVER fry traditional, tough, chewy gizzards again! I can't wait to cook these for my Southern parents who are 73 years old. My Dad will complain that my Mom was doing it wrong all of these years! HA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is such a great recipe. It is the first time I have ever had gizzards that were tender. I used the broth for soup the next day and it was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Delicious, crispy, oniony flavored goodness. My husband and I have really crossed over to the dark side :) We were vegetarians (he for 11 years, me for 5) and now here we are eating deepfried chicken gizzards for dinner! :) Very tasty, boiling them for 2 1/2 hours sure felt like a long time. I cooked ours for 1 1/2 hours, then fried in batches at 375. Made a spicy dipping sauce of mayo, ketchup, hot sauce, garlic and onion powder and lemon juice. It was totally delicious. I served it with a green salad lightly dressed with a homemade mustard vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Like other reviewers I adjusted seasonings to my taste. Very good. I still like them best the way I grew up with them - my Mom always cooked these in her pasta sauce until they were really really tender. She also used turkey gizzard and heart as part of her dressing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbarnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Very tender and delicious. Great way to tenderize what is usually a very chewy protein. My wife suggested pressure cooking them next time which seems like a great idea. They seemed a bit salty for my taste, I think the next time we will cut the salt in half, eliminate the italian seasoning and dip them in the fish breading mix we use. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I must have done something wrong. followed the recipe and they were way over done,too much cooking I think between the slow cook and the deep fry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States