Southern Fried Chicken Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Lots of flavor. They are better cold. I followed the recipe except for the hot sauce because I thought that would be to spicy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
It was good, but due to my families high blood pressure I cooked the gizzards in fresh celery, carrots, garlic and shallots or onion. The flavor was magnificent. I discarded the cooked veggies. I then added 1/4 tsp. Kosher salt to flour along with fresh ground black pepper. I left out the Italian herb seasoning because of the salt content. My family raved about the gizzards. Even the family without high blood pressure were happy without the extra salt! Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somers, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Crispy, Tender and Tasty! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Way better than the usual deep fried and tough/ chewy gizzards that you get at most places. I kept it pretty simple - just added minced onion, minced garlic and celery seed to water and simmered for 1 1/2 hours. Rinsed and cooled and sprinkled with a litte garlic salt and tossed in flour and pan fried (my preference over deep frying) in a mixture of oil and butter, stirring until as crispy as you like it. I like to mix some Heinz 57 and sour cream together to dip them in. They were so tender, juicy, crispy and tasty. Thanks for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The process of tenderizing them is excellent, but I will definitely change the seasonings and breading next time. The italian seasoning was way over powering and definitely not like any other gizzards i have had in the past. Just dropping them in plain flour really didn't do them justice either. I think more of a sage flavor would be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These were tender and delicious. Someone previously said they were going to try "beef gizzards"?? Huh...?!? Hmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great idea! I grew up on a farm and have had lots of fried gizzards BUT nothing that tastes as good as these. I placed mine in a crockpot in the morning on low and by dinner time they were nice and tender. My husband likes his tossed in Garlic Buffalo Sauce! Much healthier than fatty Buffalo Wings! Thank you for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dklove69

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Yee-Haw! These are perfect! Since you only fry the gizzard for a minute or so, it's imperative to boil first to get the flavor and tenderness. I cut gizzards in half before cooking, and use House of Autry Chicken Breader (Publix) to coat. Batter sticks best if you bread them right after the boil, then wait a minute and shake on a second coat. I also sprinkle hot sauce after fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This recipe is incredible. I made it for my family and they were blown away. Now I cant make them any other way. I urge you to try this recipe. There is no way anyone will be disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Hearts and Gizzards were never on my list until my other half came into my life. His family has always had them, flour, salt pepper no boiling, just fried, and I have to say this is the best I've ever had, and I intend on making them for the family so they can have something other than rubbery. They may like rubbery but he says these have been the best he's ever had! I used progresso garlic and herb as the recipe suggested and minimized the liquid in the end mixture. Used the flour mixture for some of the frying and the progresso for the rest and the progresso was far better. This is the new all time recipe for me now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States