Southern Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this tonight, and was very good. Just like the recipe calls for. Thanks- got it saved in recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Not clumpy, came out crispy, didn't absorb grease. Batter stayed just fine. It was all about the fish, not the batter. Will add more spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this for my grandson and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pennsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
A very nice, very authentic southern recipe. I didn't have buttermilk so I made my own with regular milk and lemon juice - worked just fine. I wanted extra crispy, so I also added a second dredge through the cornmeal mix, with a dip in egg between the first and second dredge. Was excellent, without being too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
'Like almost everyone else said, yes, crispy; not "wow" crispy, but not "eh" either. That's more to do with the oil temp, I think. Yes, bland - even with adding some cayenne (not enough). Way too much coating leftover. Use less if you try it. 'Think I'll try Cornmeal Coating or a beer batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Crispy and stuck on the fish well, but like the other reviews said, it was bland. Even my 13 year old said so. I sprinkled extra old bay on it after it was finished but that wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was great! My children ate it all and it satisfied our craving for fried catfish. I took the advice of letting the fish sit for a few minutes after I battered it, I had no problems with the batter falling off in the fryer. We thought it could use more spice/flavor, so I applied Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning and more Old Bay after it was cooked. Lemons and tartar sauce, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
First time trying catfish,used this recipe but doubled the old bay,LOVEDIt,will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I loved the texture of the batter, but thought it was bland also. I used Weber's Boston Bay seafood seasoning and doubled the amount plus added some seasoned black pepper, but still lacked the flavor for me. I decided to sprinkle some of the seasoning directly on the fish after I fried it and it was perfect! Hubby said it was perfect too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I am not a catfish person my boyfriend is. He said that it lacked flavor. He said that it really needed more seasoning...I even tried it and agreed. I will be looking for another recipe with a little more pizazz! This just didn't do it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States