Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This recipe diserves a five because it was very very tasty, and it was easy to make (much easier than boiled cabbage, but alot more fattening... lol)! Anyways, I made this with "New Years Day Black Eye Peas" and "grandma's buttermilk cornbread"... this meal turned out to be a ten!!! Everyone raved. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This has become a family favorite of ours that we crave! The only thing I did differently was saute the onions on the side and then added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
498 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This is a delicious way to prepare cabbage. I usually add 1/4 C. water and sometimes I don't use bacon, instead use a lot of margerine mixed with vegetable oil. It's really tastey and zippy to splash it with apple cider vinegar at the end too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
My daughter's loved this recipe, they are not cabbage fans. It was easy and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
My boyfriend asked me to make him some fried cabbage for dinner. O_o Needless to say, the idea made my stomach turn, but I found this recipe and tried it anyway. It was good! I used a bit more bacon since he likes the flavor and a sweet onion with a little less sugar. Between the two of us, we finished a whole head of cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I work at a retirement home as a cook. I had to make cooked cabbage for 53 residents and 4 staff. I love your customize button as I had to upside the recipe to 50 servings. Well I want to tell you that I did not make enough because I had about 15 residents and 1 staff wanting seconds. I was the hero at work that day--I will make it again when I have to make cabbage!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was fast and easy to make. I used turkey bacon and I wasn't sure that it would turn out good but it did. I even served it to some guests and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
First time every trying fried cabbage and I loved it! I added some cajun to spice it up. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I made this mostly for myself and I didn't think my wife would care that much for it but I think she liked it as much as I did. I did change a couple of things... First, I added 1/2 pound of kielbasa sliced into 1/2 inch slices. I didn't use any of the veggy oil and only 1 tablespoon of butter and I added a few caraway seeds. I cooked the cabbage a bit longer than 10 minutes until it was very tender. The result was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
To cut down on the fat I use turkey bacon cooked in the microwave. I also only use 1 1/2 tablespoons of oil (Olive, of course!), and add a little extra water. We think it's the best cabbage we've ever eaten. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Saint Louis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Greenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States