Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I did tweak it a bit though. I used 6 pieces of bacon instead of 3..mostly because I accidentally burnt the first 3(whoops), I omitted the oil. I added some minced garlic and just a dash of cajun seasoning! It was seriously one of the best vegetable side dishes I've ever eaten. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Delicious!! My son hated cabbage until I fixed this dish and its even better the next day as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is the first time I've made fried cabbage and it was delicious! What we did: cook the bacon separately first, add more bacon (2-3x more), omit the canola oil and cook the cabbage in the bacon grease, add more than a pinch of sugar (about 1-2 tsp.), add caraway seed (but not too much because it could be overpowering--I'd say about a 1/4 tsp.), add celery seed, and cook down for much longer than the 5 minutes suggested. It turned out wonderfully. Next time I may try adding a little red wine vinegar to taste. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarabethg
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this for hubby with corned beef. He eats very low carb. He loved it! Drained oil and heated a couple more minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I tried it and was not quite satisfied. Fried 8 pieces of bacon, drained.Crumbled bacon added chicken broth, salt, pepper and vinegar. I think it was Southern style
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It was ok but not my favorite, but I'm not a huge cabbage fan. It coild have used a little more bacon, a little less cabbage for my taste. I added a titch of red wine vinegar before serving to give it a little something extra. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Very good, but I added a little white vinegar for a sweet sour taste. I used the grease from the bacon to sauté the cabbage and onion, and before serving I crumbled the bacon and sprinkled it on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
The secret to good cooked cabbage is bacon grease and a little sugar. Butter can be used in place of the oil. We love cooked cabbage, but seldom use onions with our cabbage; although, we love onions. Play around with this recipe and adjust the seasonings to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Thank you, JDANX3, for a good recipe! I basically followed the recipe as written, but doubled the bacon and did not use any oil to fry it. I did find that it needed a couple splashes of apple cider vinegar and a bit more sugar near the end of cooking to suit our personal tastes. Yummy served with turkey kielbasa and cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. We did make a substitution....we didn't have any pork bacon so we used smoked ham and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States