Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Just made this (with a few changes) and the family loved it. My husband does not eat pork so I used Turkey Bacon. I cooked the turkey bacon until crisp (used about 6 slices), used 4 tbs butter instead of oil, brown sugar instead of white and a sweet Vandalia onion. Just a sprinkle of creole seasoning in addition to those listed. Next time I'll double the recipe because they all wanted seconds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Our family never had this before. I wanted to try some different sides for the summer instead of the usual. My family didn't let me go more than a week all summer without begging for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great foundation for a beginner like me. I tweeked it a little. I added butter, 3 slices more bacon, a lil more salt ,sprinkled some crushed red peppers and added a package of hidden valley ranch seasoning and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I used just a drop of oil because my bacon was 80% already done when I put it in the pan. I then like many people suggested removed the bacon after it was crisp. I sautéed the onions in the bacon fat before putting the cabbage in. After adding the cabbage I added the salt, pepper and sugar as directed. About half way through the cooking I tasted the cabbage and added more salt and sugar to taste. Placing the bacon back in at the end added a nice crunch and flavor to each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Followed the recipe, it was the best cabbage I ever ate! Thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Excellent and easy. I used 4 slices of bacon and sautéed the cabbage in the drippings. No extra oil was needed! Splash of red wine vinegar is nice and so is a bit of red pepper flakes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I'm well past 65 and had never had fried cabbage. I had never even heard of it until I was searching low carb recipes. We shall be having this on a regular basis. I agree with many other reviewers. The next time I will not add the extra oil and I will at least double the bacon. This is a very good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Maybe I did something wrong? It seemed kind of tasteless and very greasy. I kept having to add more salt. I will probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Livesimplecolorado
Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I also altered this. I cook cabbage in chic broth then add noodles then right before eating fresh grated Parmesan cheese. I also use more bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Like most others, I omitted the oil. I used an entire package of bacon, which I felt was the perfect amount once crisped. I used a smaller head of organic cabbage and it took a LOT longer to cook down to the texture I wanted, even cooking with a lid on. Even though I browned the the onions and cabbage in the bacon grease, it still didn't produce the bacon flavor I was expecting. I added some garlic powder to the cabbage while cooking, subbed about 1 T brown sugar, and added a few splashes of red wine vinegar as I generally do when frying cabbage. Served with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread, which was a fantastic pairing! Overall, the taste was just ok; I'll try again with a different brand of bacon. I still have high hopes for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States