Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I love cabbage, but didn't care for this. Greasy and bland. I don't do bacon, so left that out (which I always do on recipes & usually the food is still amazing... not so with this one). Don't like to waste food so I'll figure out a way to make this edible... maybe red pepper & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
My family loves this recipe. It has a wonderful taste and so good with Ribs or Steak. We have a lot of get togethers with friends and family and there are never any left overs. Thank so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is one if the best ever fried cabbage receipes. My family lived it. I also added skinned chicken thighs. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
One of the best traditional southern cabbage dishes I have found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
With the cabbage ready to gather out of the garden this recipe came in handy. We all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I love this cabbage. It is excellent! I never make a recipe I see on this site more than once. I have made this several times. It is now one of my favorite things to add to dinner. Thank you for the great simple recipe that tastes like you made a fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Made this twice. The first time exactly as written, the second time, I omitted the oil and doubled the bacon, just using the bacon grease to cook the cabbage in. It's so much better this way. Oh, and a tablespoon of sugar instead of a pinch. So good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Make this a lot, but I don't use the bacon, sugar or onion. I use the oil and season and cook. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This was very good. I did not use the vegetable oil. I just used the bacon grease. I did not use the sugar. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
i am from the south and never heard of this until my colorado husband cooked it for me, i fell in love ! but, he uses no sugar, like these recipes or cider. which i am glad because i am not a big sugar or salt person when cooking. if you haven't tried this...don't delay. we add smoked sausage or kelbasa to make it the main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasblu

Displaying results 81-90 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States