Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
i am from the south and never heard of this until my colorado husband cooked it for me, i fell in love ! but, he uses no sugar, like these recipes or cider. which i am glad because i am not a big sugar or salt person when cooking. if you haven't tried this...don't delay. we add smoked sausage or kelbasa to make it the main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasblu
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Loved this. I increased the bacon to 6 slices, ommited the vegetable oil and only used 1/2 of a very large cabbage. First time making fried cabbage and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I was impressed how easy but more impressed how wonderful it tasted. I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Texas, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
We eat alot of cabbage in our house. But, I had never made fried cabbage. I made a couple small changes to this.I added some polish sausage and only used 1/2 an onion. It was so good! My husband said "this is the kind of meal that I could eat until I made myself sick."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
My husband and children loved this dish! I followed the directions exactly except that I added a tad bit more sugar...to entice my children to eat cabbage. However, it was so delicious that I don't think I needed to add anything extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Alabama, USA
Living In: Troy, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Delicious dish! I did modify a bit- skipped the oil and added an extra strip (or 2 ;) shh) of bacon, used 1/2 a red onion and a big Napa cabbage. This was a hit with the whole family. I was a tad nervous about salting bacon, but it turned out fantastic. THANK YOU! my son had been asking for cabbage with dinner for months and i just couldn't figure out wthowdy to do with a cabbage besides coleslaw. I served this alongside mashed fingerling potatoes & grilled chicken breast. friggin delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent!! Just like we had at a restaurant in Tulsa, OK. Instead of oil I used 1 tbsp butter, but left everything else as is. Great with steak, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
very good with beef stirfry too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Wow! This is excellent! I agree, It really isn't necessary to use any oil at all to cook your bacon in. I also removed my bacon from the pan and I cooked my cabbage in a very little bit of the drippings. I then added the bacon back to the cabbage at the end of the cooking time keeping the bacon a little crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I used just bacon grease that I had saved because I was out of bacon, still turned out really good. This was a nice way to fix cabbage for New years, and everyone enjoyed it vs. plain old boiled boring cabbage. Served with corned beef brisket and spicy bean salsa for a different start to the new year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States