Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is an old German recipe---Add about two or three Tbs. cider vinegar and it's a sweet and sour fried cabbage that I've enjoyed for the past 80 years and still loving it. I also dice up the core of the cabbage (no need to waste it) and cook it too. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I use salt pork fried up crisp and chopped into small pieces in place of the bacon. I use nothing but the salt pork, cabbage and enough water to cover the cabbage. Awesome and one of my families favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very good cabbage. Next time I would like to use less vegetable oil. Served with steak and PW's Crash Hot Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I love cabbage, but didn't care for this. Greasy and bland. I don't do bacon, so left that out (which I always do on recipes & usually the food is still amazing... not so with this one). Don't like to waste food so I'll figure out a way to make this edible... maybe red pepper & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
My family loves this recipe. It has a wonderful taste and so good with Ribs or Steak. We have a lot of get togethers with friends and family and there are never any left overs. Thank so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is one if the best ever fried cabbage receipes. My family lived it. I also added skinned chicken thighs. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
One of the best traditional southern cabbage dishes I have found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
With the cabbage ready to gather out of the garden this recipe came in handy. We all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I love this cabbage. It is excellent! I never make a recipe I see on this site more than once. I have made this several times. It is now one of my favorite things to add to dinner. Thank you for the great simple recipe that tastes like you made a fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Made this twice. The first time exactly as written, the second time, I omitted the oil and doubled the bacon, just using the bacon grease to cook the cabbage in. It's so much better this way. Oh, and a tablespoon of sugar instead of a pinch. So good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States