Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
i made this for new years day along with black eyed peas and cornbread. excellent recipe. i didnt have much more than a bite of this, but the guys wiped out a whole pan of it. the only change i made was to use salt free seasoning when i cooked it and i put salt on the table for those who wanted it since i dont cook with alot of salt. i will make this again. they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was very good...but my grandmother from Scotland made it the same way and she was from Northern Scotland...brought bake memories of my youth. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Been eating this my whole life. It's best when made with Early Jersey Wakefield cabbage straight out of the garden. I always add carrots as well. Try using andouille sausage, smoked sausage, and country ham as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jamesville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Fried cabbage is always good, but you don't need the oil just a little more bacon (well done and crumbled). Also, bell pepper cut up and thrown in with the cabbage and onion completes this recipe. Sooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is an old German recipe---Add about two or three Tbs. cider vinegar and it's a sweet and sour fried cabbage that I've enjoyed for the past 80 years and still loving it. I also dice up the core of the cabbage (no need to waste it) and cook it too. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I use salt pork fried up crisp and chopped into small pieces in place of the bacon. I use nothing but the salt pork, cabbage and enough water to cover the cabbage. Awesome and one of my families favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very good cabbage. Next time I would like to use less vegetable oil. Served with steak and PW's Crash Hot Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I love cabbage, but didn't care for this. Greasy and bland. I don't do bacon, so left that out (which I always do on recipes & usually the food is still amazing... not so with this one). Don't like to waste food so I'll figure out a way to make this edible... maybe red pepper & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
My family loves this recipe. It has a wonderful taste and so good with Ribs or Steak. We have a lot of get togethers with friends and family and there are never any left overs. Thank so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is one if the best ever fried cabbage receipes. My family lived it. I also added skinned chicken thighs. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States