Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I took advantage of suggestions. Did not add additional vegetable oil and added bacon at end of cooking. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Here in N.O. this resembles what we call smothered cabbage and true smothered cabbage is cooked for a wile with ham (ham bone is best) and or pickle meat. We cook it real slow for 3 hours covered, stirring every 1/2 hour or so, then add baby carrots the last hour of cooking. We also add more seasoings, including some bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is really yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was okay. I had to add a little water and it made it an ugly color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Fast, easy and VERY tasty. I cut the bacon in smaller pieces, and used a little less onion. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Always a favorate at our house a short version of my Mother's German style. I add celery and toss with noodles, and sometime sliced apples. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
i made this for new years day along with black eyed peas and cornbread. excellent recipe. i didnt have much more than a bite of this, but the guys wiped out a whole pan of it. the only change i made was to use salt free seasoning when i cooked it and i put salt on the table for those who wanted it since i dont cook with alot of salt. i will make this again. they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was very good...but my grandmother from Scotland made it the same way and she was from Northern Scotland...brought bake memories of my youth. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Been eating this my whole life. It's best when made with Early Jersey Wakefield cabbage straight out of the garden. I always add carrots as well. Try using andouille sausage, smoked sausage, and country ham as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jamesville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Fried cabbage is always good, but you don't need the oil just a little more bacon (well done and crumbled). Also, bell pepper cut up and thrown in with the cabbage and onion completes this recipe. Sooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States