Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Dbl the bacon, omit the oil! GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious! I followed the other suggestions and didn't use oil and cooked double the bacon. Removed the bacon from the pot when it was done cooking. I took just a bit of the bacon grease and sautéed the onions for just a bit. Meanwhile, cooked the cabbage for a few minutes, added the onions in and other ingredients. When nearly done, crumbled the bacon into the cabbage mix. Made some black-eyed peas to go along side. Seriously delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
OMG! Cabbage is not a favorite of mine. However, my husband wanted it for New Year's Day. I did a research on southern cooking for cabbage and came across this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly without adding anything extra. It was the best that I had since growing up in the south. This will be one to add to my recipe box! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Oh my goodness I cannot stop eating this cabbage! I didn't use the oil, otherwise I followed the recipe and it's just too good!! Will be my go-to from now, on. Thank you for the awesome recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
We tried this one and another one with vinegar added....we loved both of them so I guess we just like cabbage! But really, this one is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Quick, easy and SOOOOO delicious! I think those who don't like cabbage would fall in love with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I cooked the bacon first, in the pot. Added the cabbage leaves, a pinch of sugar and other seasonings. Came out great. I believe omitting the oil helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This is a great recipe and sometimes I add in thinly stripped pork or chicken to make it a whole meal in one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very easy, indeed! I didn't have the onion so I used the white bulb part of the green onions I had and added maybe1/2 tsp of onion powder. I used a wonderful Hormels Turkey bacon without much fat so I did use the oil recommended. We both...especially my very selective husband....loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I tried this recipe it was my first time cooking cabbage. I must say it was delicious... However, I dbl the bacon anddid not include the Veg oil. My husband & I loved it. I can't wait to cook the cabbage again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States