Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I used red cabbage instead of green cabbage. I cooked 4 strips of bacon until they were super crispy & set them aside. I sauteed the onion & cabbage in the bacon drippings with salt & pepper until wilted & slightly carmelized. Once done cooking, I crumbled the bacon & added it to the cabbage & onions. Really good. I omitted the sugar as the cabbage is a bit sweet on its own. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was just like my MamMaw & Aunt Lula used to make. Quick & easy way to get your husband to Love cabbage! Like others suggested, I rendered bacon fat while cooking and omitted the oil. We are a bacon loving house, so I added a few more pieces of crumbled bacon & placed that on top of cabbage after it was plated so the bacon would stay crisp. This was a good way to use some of those tougher, outer green leaves. Since we are empty nesters now, this was an easy recipe to make in a small portion so we didn't have any left over. I had planned on enough leftovers for lunch the next day, but my husband went back for thirds! He's already asked when we can have this again! Great dish for fall when fresh cabbage is plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I packed leftovers thinking I could eat it for lunch, but found they were devoured by my husband. The whole family loved it. Adding this as a family keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Ive looked for this recipie for years,my Mom passed years ago and it's the one recipie I didn't get from her! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
truly tasty! Like others, I left out veggie oil & sugar, used 4 slices of bacon, pulled out bacon before putting in cabbage and onions (returning it at the end), and let the veggies cook about 20 minutes covered (med heat) stirring occassionally (5 minutes cooking is too crunchy for me and this dish). Two thumbs up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EKsMama
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This was delicious! I've always been one to say "I don't like cabbage" when really I just never had it with bacon. HAHA! I did make some changes. I omitted the vegetable oil, cooked the bacon then removed it from the pan. I then cooked my onion (only about 1/2 cup) with a clove of garlic in the bacon fat. Once that was how I like it, I added the cabbage, salt, pepper, and a pinch of Truvia (I'm going for low-carb here). After about 5 minutes, I crumbled the bacon back in and mixed it up well then plated. It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
way too greasy... don't put any oil in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yummy. 3 bacons were fine. I sliced the cabbage until there was a core to remove, then I squared the cabbage slices. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Holy cow this was delicious!!! I didn't use salt as the bacon is salty enough already. I did scoop the bacon out and stir fired the cabbage and onion without it cause I wanted my bacon crispy. I added 6 strips of bacon instead of 3 and drained some of the grease before adding the cabbage and onion. So declicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States