Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I didn't eat this but I did make it for the bf. I subbed already cooked and crumbled bacon (that's all I had) and left out the sugar. bf loved it and gobbled it up. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is how my family has eaten cabbage for generations - LOVE IT! So simple, but so tasty! To make it more of a meal instead of a side dish, try using some cubed ham instead of the bacon, and add egg noodles. Great hearty main dish for cold winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
this cabbage is awesome!!! i've always preferred cabbage that was sauted, but this is delish. i added a little cayenne to balance the sweet from the sugar and frying it in the bacon grease just made it money!!! making this again tonight. what a great way to eat cabbage. kids loved it too. thank you so much for posting such a delicious, simple recipe that i never thought of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I grew up eating a similar cabbage recipe. Wonderful..!! I didn't add the sugar, the cabbage is sweet enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This is how my grandmother taught me to cook cabbage...I add some chopped onion in with the cabbage, and leave out the sugar...truly yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Followed the recipe as is but cut it in 4, turned out great! Would be a great side dish with sausages for supper. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I am so glad i found this! My 4 lil 'picky eaters' just love it! 5 Stars:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was good. The munchkins asked for seconds! I left out the sugar and added small cubed potatoes. Next time I will cook the potatoes before adding the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
The dish is awesome...It was a simple recipe. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States