Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I have been cooking cabbage like this for at least 5 years when I got it from a Southern friend of mine. We have it almost every holiday. I just don't add the sugar, never found it necessary. The cabbage carmelizes itself the longer you cook it. I always cook extra bacon because my husband and kids steal it as they walk through the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: East Meadow, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was excellent! ...really nice change from the usual. My family couldnt get enough. I think the recipe is perfect just as is...no changes needed. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBLUE1963

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
this cabbage is awesome!!! i've always preferred cabbage that was sauted, but this is delish. i added a little cayenne to balance the sweet from the sugar and frying it in the bacon grease just made it money!!! making this again tonight. what a great way to eat cabbage. kids loved it too. thank you so much for posting such a delicious, simple recipe that i never thought of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is how my family has eaten cabbage for generations - LOVE IT! So simple, but so tasty! To make it more of a meal instead of a side dish, try using some cubed ham instead of the bacon, and add egg noodles. Great hearty main dish for cold winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
i agree with the other review about omiting the sugar, the bacon is all you need for sweetness. This is just like my mama makes it tho, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob & Adrian's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This is how my grandmother taught me to cook cabbage...I add some chopped onion in with the cabbage, and leave out the sugar...truly yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is a great fried cabbage recipe, but like the other reviews I omitted the sugar, and we like things spicy in our house so I added a little crushed red pepper flakes to give it more zing, that's how my momma made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I grew up eating a similar cabbage recipe. Wonderful..!! I didn't add the sugar, the cabbage is sweet enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I didn't eat this but I did make it for the bf. I subbed already cooked and crumbled bacon (that's all I had) and left out the sugar. bf loved it and gobbled it up. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was my first time ever making fried cabbage so I wanted to try a really good recipe. I must say I was a little skeptical when I read this recipe, it was so easy! Well I am now a big fan of fried cabbage and will probably cook my cabbage like this from now on! The flavors just came together perfectly and it was perfectly cooked with just the right crunchiness! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pt929mm1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Savage, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States