Southern Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
My husband is the designated bacon-cooker in my house. He made the whole package so I started with double the bacon grease. It was still good though! We ate ALL the leftovers and now I have a new low carb recipe which I think will become a staple. I bought another head of cabbage this week. Oh one note, it took about 20-25 minutes to get it good and brown. Of course that might have had something to do with the extra grease. Regardless, I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
We Southerners love our cabbage! I had to use bacon drippings only since I didn't have any bacon on hand. My family likes everything spicy, so I seasoned it up with some garlic salt, salt and pepper, and a drop or two of liquid smoke flavoring, and omitted the sugar. YUM! 5-Star as modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Made this twice now. First time, used only three strips of bacon, about 1/4 head of shredded cabbage, and a pinch of white sugar. On medium-high heat, the bacon left some residue on my skillet, but cabbage tasted good enough for me to try the recipe again. Second time, I used a non-stick skillet, 5 slices of bacon, about 1/3 head of chopped cabbage, and a pinch of white sugar. After bacon cooked (it didn't stick this time), I removed about 2 tablespoons of the bacon grease, and then fried the cabbage. Liked the recipe better the second time with more bacon. Next time I have some extra cabbage, I'm planning on trying this recipe again. Next time, I think I'll try using brown sugar instead of white sugar, and perhaps adding some onion and garlic. Overall a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I tried this receipe. I could get my husband to eat my cabbage but never say it was good. He ate this cabbage and raved about how good it was. He even ate the left over which has never happen. I did not use the oil. I used 6 pieces of bacon. I let mine cook 40 minutes. I added chicken broth to cover the bottom of the pan and stirred occasionally and kept adding the broth as it cooked out. I also added a pinch of crushed red peppers. I increased the sugar to 1 tsp. I have to say, it was so good. I shocked myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was my first time ever making fried cabbage so I wanted to try a really good recipe. I must say I was a little skeptical when I read this recipe, it was so easy! Well I am now a big fan of fried cabbage and will probably cook my cabbage like this from now on! The flavors just came together perfectly and it was perfectly cooked with just the right crunchiness! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pt929mm1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Savage, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
this was the best idea ever. Our house loves bacon and I love cabbage so adding the two was so good. I made it first for St. Patrick's Day but have done it many times since. Even those few that don't eat cooked cabbage like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huffman, Texas, USA
Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
The dish is awesome...It was a simple recipe. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was good. The munchkins asked for seconds! I left out the sugar and added small cubed potatoes. Next time I will cook the potatoes before adding the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I am so glad i found this! My 4 lil 'picky eaters' just love it! 5 Stars:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is how my family has eaten cabbage for generations - LOVE IT! So simple, but so tasty! To make it more of a meal instead of a side dish, try using some cubed ham instead of the bacon, and add egg noodles. Great hearty main dish for cold winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States