Southern Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I haven't tried it yet, but I will now for sure and USE my cast iron skillet. I was just kind of poking around, see if anyone peeled the apples, what kind they used, what kind if any sugar.. and I came across this! Sounds great.. going to go make it now.. will come back with a review. My daughter gave me the apples, so not sure what kind, they are red skinned (lol).. I'll do a rough peel, use my apple corer..go from there. TNX for all the help ladies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is my mother's recipe as well. I have grown up on these fried apples. As I got older and more health conscious, I began substituting apple juice for the butter. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LorenaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I had 3 super large granny smith apples. Simply easy to follow, just make sure not to over do with the cinnamon. As is, was delish and 3 of my children that could eat apples, really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
These apples were delicious. The recipe is easy and the ingredients are usually readily available. Great side dish for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Everyone enjoyed this in an old fashioned cast iron skillet just like my grandmother used to make!! Very good and it brings back a lot of warm memories....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe was super easy and delicious. I used a variety of apples (Red Delicious, Granny Smith and Mackintosh) and left a little skin to identify the apple and this works for any type of apple. I instead of 2 tablespoons of cinnamon, I used 1 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon and with the remaining 1/2 tablespoon, I was little nutmeg, allspice and ginger. My husband and kids loved it as a side for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Turned out tasting good, but the sauce seemed a little dark, not sure why, but I followed the recipe to a T. I will be making it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by detroitprincessmh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Love this easy and simple recipe. My 2 yr old gobbled down seconds of this!!!!! I think next time I am gonna add a dash or 2 of salt like another reviewer did. I followed all the instructions and it turned out super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I just tried this tonight and it was fabulous. So easy. So few ingredients. So delicious! I followed the recipe pretty much to the letter but used a bit less butter and also a little less sugar. I think it would be just as good if not better with half the sugar. I also added less cinnamon, added a few shakes of salt, and just a tad of cornstarch/water mixture... about a teaspoon cornstarch to about a tablespoon water, and this thickened the mixture a bit without making it gloppy or pasty. I want to make this every day for the next few weeks it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Amazing! Especially when served alongside pork chops! I used half white sugar, and half brown sugar, and I think that added another layer of flavor. Will definitely makes this again. (forgot to add, the apples I used were too old to use fresh, but they turned out great in this recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlleyKat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States