Southern Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very good; eat at breakfast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was great stuff. I made it exactly as written. Since I'd never made anything like it before, though, I didn't know quite what to do with it, but I read the "breakfast" suggestion and ate it served on top of frozen waffles that I had popped into the toaster - the combination worked very well. This lasted me for 4 breakfasts, and the reheated leftovers were almost as good as fresh. When I ate this, it took me a while to remember where I'd eaten something like this before, then it struck me - this is the same kind of "cinnamon apples" that is one of the side-dish choices I've gotten at restaurants like barbecue joints. Easy and tasty, and worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I've always used a similar recipe to this for my fried apples. Sometimes I use brown sugar in lieu of white, but you can also add bacon drippings (what DOESN'T bacon improve the flavor of?!) in exchange for some of the butter to get a more robust flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chadwick Horn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bmom4
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is a great simple recipe. I did however use 2 very big honey crisp apples because that is all I use. I used brown sugar and a tad of regular sugar but cut it in half. Cut the butter by half as well. I ended up simmering the apples for about 30 minutes because that is where I found I like the tenderness of them. The key is stirring every few minutes. Added a dash of cinnamon and it was perfect! This made 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Way too much cinnamon for me. I listened to some of the other reviewers and halved the cinnamon and it was still too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Great recipes but next time I will use half the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These were delicious, i added a pinch of salt, they turned out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieP
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was my first attempt at fried apples, and it was horrible. I think the recipe had a typo. Perhaps the two tablespoons of cinnamon should have been two teaspoons. It may be a while, but I may try it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I would highly recommend a particular type of cinnamon. It is called Ground Saigon Cinnamon. It has a strong cinnamon flavor. If this is to strong try Ground Ceylon cinnamon, from Sri Lanka. It is awesome as well. I didn't realize what a difference these could make in traditional dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Very good! I used honey crisp apples since that was what I had on hand, so I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup. The recipe took the substitution very well. I would definitely recommend tasting as you go along to be sure you get the texture you like. This was excellent served by itself and over a pork roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States