Southern Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I used a pound of spicy sausage instead of the livers and gizzards and cut back on the cayenne just a little. Turned out great! My husband loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADASAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Wow. I've spent a lot of time in Louisiana around the coastal areas and have eaten more than my fair share of dirty rice without believing it was as simple as this recipe. The flavors seem so complex! When my husband requested dirty rice to be served alongside my shrimp etouffe, I tried this basic recipe, thinking I would later make changes and create my own using this recipe as the structure. Wow. Completely unnecessary! The ONLY thing I added was a 1/4 t of white pepper and 1/2 t of salt. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
This is great dirty rice! I couldn't find the gizzards or livers this time so I used turkey meat and also turkey broth. The flavor reminds me of some of my favorite cajun restaurants in Texas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
WOW this is so YUMMY! I changed a thing or 2, due to I didnt have all the ingriedents listed. I used a pound of chicken livers and 2 small vidalia onions sauteed with the chicken livers. I sauteed them in bacon grease too. I added Mrs. dash spicy pepper blend, it has cayenne in it. I also added a decent dash of garlic salt. My husband ate 3 servings of it, "jethro bodine servings"!. My kids even ate it and they hate chicken livers and wont eat rice, but they liked this. I didnt tell them it was livers in it though. Hats off to you Kathleen and your elders, who invented this recipe! It is delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
I am from southern Louisiana and it tasted great! Just like grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
A+++ recipe, hubby ate two bowls, and even the kids loved it. They never knew that they were eating liver! Definitely a keeper. Thanx for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Finally a recipe for the "Real Dirty Rice" ! You must be from Cajun country to know what I mean, Sha! Thanks To you! Debra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
A-one recipe. I'm a Southern girl and have found that several recipes add beef, beans and corn. Since when does dirty rice have these ingredients?! This is good ole comfort food for me. Thx, DD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
omg !! this is awsome . no doubt a winner . instead of gizzards and liver , i used 1 pound fresh pork sausage .any favorite sausage will be fine . deserves 10 stars ..thumbs up on this one .thanks alot !! popeyes dirty rice has nothing on this one .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
IT's a very good cajun recipe. try it,yuo may like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States