Southern Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
omg !! this is awsome . no doubt a winner . instead of gizzards and liver , i used 1 pound fresh pork sausage .any favorite sausage will be fine . deserves 10 stars ..thumbs up on this one .thanks alot !! popeyes dirty rice has nothing on this one .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Finally a recipe for the "Real Dirty Rice" ! You must be from Cajun country to know what I mean, Sha! Thanks To you! Debra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This was great! I substituted 3/4 lb of ground beef for the chicken livers (not too keen on them, sorry!) - I also added 1/2 cup chopped celery and 1/4 lb chopped bell pepper. I will definitely make this again. Be careful with the cayenne pepper, if you can't handle spicy food! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Wow. I've spent a lot of time in Louisiana around the coastal areas and have eaten more than my fair share of dirty rice without believing it was as simple as this recipe. The flavors seem so complex! When my husband requested dirty rice to be served alongside my shrimp etouffe, I tried this basic recipe, thinking I would later make changes and create my own using this recipe as the structure. Wow. Completely unnecessary! The ONLY thing I added was a 1/4 t of white pepper and 1/2 t of salt. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I've made this several times. I swithced to only using chicken livers (no gizzards) for pure convenience - and I couldn't tell much difference in the final taste. At first I chopped the livers but that resulted in strong tastes of liver every once in a while. I went to using the blender and that made all the difference in the taste. I got over how the pureed livers looked in the blender. I make a big batch now. It seems to get better and better the second and third day. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
WOW this is so YUMMY! I changed a thing or 2, due to I didnt have all the ingriedents listed. I used a pound of chicken livers and 2 small vidalia onions sauteed with the chicken livers. I sauteed them in bacon grease too. I added Mrs. dash spicy pepper blend, it has cayenne in it. I also added a decent dash of garlic salt. My husband ate 3 servings of it, "jethro bodine servings"!. My kids even ate it and they hate chicken livers and wont eat rice, but they liked this. I didnt tell them it was livers in it though. Hats off to you Kathleen and your elders, who invented this recipe! It is delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
I am from southern Louisiana and it tasted great! Just like grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Traditional dirty rice is a beautiful (ugly!) thing, and this is IT. So good, be prepared to give out your recipe. I do add celery and bell pepper with the onion (aka The Trinity of Cajun & Creole cooking). I would say that if you are squeamish about the gizzards and livers, try it once this traditional way and see if it changes your mind. You might find that dem bayou folks know their food better than you thought! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I used a pound of spicy sausage instead of the livers and gizzards and cut back on the cayenne just a little. Turned out great! My husband loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADASAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
A+++ recipe, hubby ate two bowls, and even the kids loved it. They never knew that they were eating liver! Definitely a keeper. Thanx for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States