Southern Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Always like to look at others and bring ideas together. While I don't use gizzards, I would had never thought of pre-pulsing in a food processor. Doesn't look good, but is the best way yet to get a little meat in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Wow. I've spent a lot of time in Louisiana around the coastal areas and have eaten more than my fair share of dirty rice without believing it was as simple as this recipe. The flavors seem so complex! When my husband requested dirty rice to be served alongside my shrimp etouffe, I tried this basic recipe, thinking I would later make changes and create my own using this recipe as the structure. Wow. Completely unnecessary! The ONLY thing I added was a 1/4 t of white pepper and 1/2 t of salt. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This is by far the worst recipe that I have ever made. I followed this recipe exactly and would not recommend it to ANYBODY!! It might be better with something other than the liver and gizzards (both of which I generally like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Yesterday, I was looking for a side dish to go with grilled shish kabob, so I tried this recipe, and it was very good. I agree, though, that the cayenne pepper should be used sparingly. I omitted the gizzard and liver because my boyfriend is watching his cholesterol and, anyway, we didn't need additional meat in that dinner. This recipe is actually very much like the version of northern Italian risotto my mother always made. Thanks, Kathleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
I liked this recipe, but the rest of my picky family did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
I am from southern Louisiana and it tasted great! Just like grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Very good, but the gizzards get a bit chewy when they're cooked so long. Also, be very careful with the cayenne pepper--this rice has an awesome flavor but we could hardly stand to eat it, and we're spicy food junkies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
WOW this is so YUMMY! I changed a thing or 2, due to I didnt have all the ingriedents listed. I used a pound of chicken livers and 2 small vidalia onions sauteed with the chicken livers. I sauteed them in bacon grease too. I added Mrs. dash spicy pepper blend, it has cayenne in it. I also added a decent dash of garlic salt. My husband ate 3 servings of it, "jethro bodine servings"!. My kids even ate it and they hate chicken livers and wont eat rice, but they liked this. I didnt tell them it was livers in it though. Hats off to you Kathleen and your elders, who invented this recipe! It is delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
IT's a very good cajun recipe. try it,yuo may like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I used a pound of spicy sausage instead of the livers and gizzards and cut back on the cayenne just a little. Turned out great! My husband loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADASAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States