Southern Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
addictive! i add dash of commercial chilli sauce and grab of sliced red bellpepper. really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I've made this several times. I swithced to only using chicken livers (no gizzards) for pure convenience - and I couldn't tell much difference in the final taste. At first I chopped the livers but that resulted in strong tastes of liver every once in a while. I went to using the blender and that made all the difference in the taste. I got over how the pureed livers looked in the blender. I make a big batch now. It seems to get better and better the second and third day. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Pretty good! I used sausage like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Small correction to my review. Thaw the frozen meat/veg mixture, heat in skillet, add rice, proceed from there. (I wish allrecipes.com would (1) let us see the recipe we're reviewing as we write the review, (2) make it a little easier to read and edit our reviews before submission.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
My people come from New Iberia, La., and we have dirty rice at all dinners. The combination of ground chuck and chicken livers, browned to perfection make this the perfect rice for any dinner. White pepper gives it that 'hint of heat' witout the flames, but we like it hot, so we get free with the pepper hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Although I grew up in the south I have never eaten dirty rice, man have I been missin' out! This is a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I grew up in the Mississippi Delta region, and this is pretty familiar "good stuff" to me. If you want to be more authentic and less healthy, use a big spoonful of bacon grease instead of the vegetable oil. Remember most folks will salt and pepper at the table, so the amounts listed here are fine . . . and if you're not used to Cajun spices, take it easy on the cayenne. Otherwise, this is it. Good, delicious, homestyle comfort food--and easy! For what it's worth, I LOVE your idea of using the food processor to pre-mash the meat. You took the work out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Added onion and diced green pepper. A few extra seasonings because it was too bland beforehand. Made a nice sidedish for my Mardi Gras dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Oh, MY! Another "original"! I love these "no-processed food-based" recipes! Thank you, Kathleen, for sharing your recipe! 5 stars plus-plus-plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This was great! I substituted 3/4 lb of ground beef for the chicken livers (not too keen on them, sorry!) - I also added 1/2 cup chopped celery and 1/4 lb chopped bell pepper. I will definitely make this again. Be careful with the cayenne pepper, if you can't handle spicy food! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States