Southern Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Small correction to my review. Thaw the frozen meat/veg mixture, heat in skillet, add rice, proceed from there. (I wish allrecipes.com would (1) let us see the recipe we're reviewing as we write the review, (2) make it a little easier to read and edit our reviews before submission.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
My people come from New Iberia, La., and we have dirty rice at all dinners. The combination of ground chuck and chicken livers, browned to perfection make this the perfect rice for any dinner. White pepper gives it that 'hint of heat' witout the flames, but we like it hot, so we get free with the pepper hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Although I grew up in the south I have never eaten dirty rice, man have I been missin' out! This is a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I grew up in the Mississippi Delta region, and this is pretty familiar "good stuff" to me. If you want to be more authentic and less healthy, use a big spoonful of bacon grease instead of the vegetable oil. Remember most folks will salt and pepper at the table, so the amounts listed here are fine . . . and if you're not used to Cajun spices, take it easy on the cayenne. Otherwise, this is it. Good, delicious, homestyle comfort food--and easy! For what it's worth, I LOVE your idea of using the food processor to pre-mash the meat. You took the work out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Added onion and diced green pepper. A few extra seasonings because it was too bland beforehand. Made a nice sidedish for my Mardi Gras dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Oh, MY! Another "original"! I love these "no-processed food-based" recipes! Thank you, Kathleen, for sharing your recipe! 5 stars plus-plus-plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This was great! I substituted 3/4 lb of ground beef for the chicken livers (not too keen on them, sorry!) - I also added 1/2 cup chopped celery and 1/4 lb chopped bell pepper. I will definitely make this again. Be careful with the cayenne pepper, if you can't handle spicy food! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Always like to look at others and bring ideas together. While I don't use gizzards, I would had never thought of pre-pulsing in a food processor. Doesn't look good, but is the best way yet to get a little meat in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Wow. I've spent a lot of time in Louisiana around the coastal areas and have eaten more than my fair share of dirty rice without believing it was as simple as this recipe. The flavors seem so complex! When my husband requested dirty rice to be served alongside my shrimp etouffe, I tried this basic recipe, thinking I would later make changes and create my own using this recipe as the structure. Wow. Completely unnecessary! The ONLY thing I added was a 1/4 t of white pepper and 1/2 t of salt. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This is by far the worst recipe that I have ever made. I followed this recipe exactly and would not recommend it to ANYBODY!! It might be better with something other than the liver and gizzards (both of which I generally like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States