Southern Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Wonderful recipe!!!! I used sausage instead of chicken gizzards and it made it a little spicy, so be careful when using the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I substituted a pound of lean ground beef for the gizzards and chicken livers and really enjoyed this. It would be a great side dish for a BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I've made this recipe 3 times now and I LOVE IT! It reminds me of boudin...without the casing. It's very very easy to make. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savta Sinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I have been making dirty rice for years! The recipe I make usually takes about an hour to prepare alone. I was looking for something quick and simple. This recipe is just that. Not as flavorful as the dirty rice I make but none-the-less it is good. I did however, use a little over a 1/2 lb of gizzards I LOVE GIZZARDS!! (boil them first! rinse them off then put in a food processor to finely mince.) I used 1/2 group turkey instead of liver (yuck). I used equal amounts of green bell pepper, yellow onion and celery. (these are a few of the ingredients I use in my own recipe). The kids love it so that's all tht matters. It's easy and quick enough for me to make for dinner regularly vs. my own. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veda'sCookingDinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I love dirty rice but had never attempted to make it. This was easy and excellent. I made it for Easter Dinner and all 17 attendees loved it - but dish served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Yum! This recipe was so easy, but came out delicious! I used whole chicken gizzards & hearts; I added some bell pepper and did not have cayenne, so I added Creole Seasoning and then cut down the salt / pepper. Even my picky toddler loved it! I can't wait to try this with shrimp instead of gizzards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms. jade cooks
Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is it! This is sholey it! Don't change a thing! Y'all have got remember that down here we know how to make gizzards and livers taste delicious, because that's what we have left after the chicken is eat. Use the freshest ingredients you can get your hands on, and use plenty of cayenne pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
addictive! i add dash of commercial chilli sauce and grab of sliced red bellpepper. really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I've made this several times. I swithced to only using chicken livers (no gizzards) for pure convenience - and I couldn't tell much difference in the final taste. At first I chopped the livers but that resulted in strong tastes of liver every once in a while. I went to using the blender and that made all the difference in the taste. I got over how the pureed livers looked in the blender. I make a big batch now. It seems to get better and better the second and third day. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Pretty good! I used sausage like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States