Southern Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
LOVE this recipe! super simple but very tasty. i substituted the gizzards and livers for 1 lb. ground beef (i'm a wuss, i know)...used beef drippings in place of oil and red pepper flakes and a bit of chili powder in place of the cayenne. it was delicious, and it smelled wonderful while it was cooking. microwaved leftovers for 2 1/2 mins. for a quick and easy lunch at the office. thank you for sharing this recipe, i will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benton, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
very tasty=) I used ground pork sausage instead of the gizzards or livers. still came out great! My boyfriend went for thirds! definetly gonna make again!! thanks for the recipe=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souza'sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
We raise our own chickens, so this recipe was a natural for us. So I risked some of our home butchered (light years better than from the store!) livers on this. We didn't save the gizzards last year, so had to skip that part. Other than that, made as submitted. Wow! I had no idea dirty rice could be this good. I had always had with hamburger before. Very simple also. MAKE THIS RECIPE....thank you Kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very good base to tweak--made changes that made it delicious--add linguica, celery, bell peppers, bay leaf, worcestershire sauce, paprika, clam juice-- Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I used some thinly sliced chicken breast meat. Instead of the Cayenne pepper I used Franks Hot Sauce - a full tbsp of it (we like it hot). Great tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. I used ground spicy italian sausage in place of livers and gizzards (didn't have any on hand). I browned the sausage and then ground it fine with the food processor. This was so good..... It is way better than Bojangles dirty rice which is my favorite. I am so pleased I can now make a better version at home. Oh, I didn't add all the cayenne pepper and mine was very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie monster crunch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Great recipe!! Made it the other night for my Alabama AA group potluck..Wasn't a spoonful left. I will take some other reviewers advice next time I make it and omit the gizzards and use pork sausage in it place.Thanks for the recipe Kathleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is great. I live in Germany so I had to substitute ground beef/pork for the gizzards and livers but my family still loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
My family loved this, but I added more livers and gizzards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Speaks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was a good recipe, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States