Southern Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Awesome recipe, i left the gizzrds out and put smoked turkeleg in it. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vixen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Traditional dirty rice is a beautiful (ugly!) thing, and this is IT. So good, be prepared to give out your recipe. I do add celery and bell pepper with the onion (aka The Trinity of Cajun & Creole cooking). I would say that if you are squeamish about the gizzards and livers, try it once this traditional way and see if it changes your mind. You might find that dem bayou folks know their food better than you thought! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Now this is Dirty Rice! Nuff said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Pretty good. Came out a little too moist though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIC2YOUNG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This recipe is GREAT. I'm not sure where the idea of adding ground beef comes from but I'm sure it tastes ok. BUT, if you want authentic southern (Gullah) rice, this is it with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was easy and surprisingly quite a hit with my rather picky 3 year old. My only problem is that although I am a confirmed carnivore, I found the blending of the chicken livers (I only used livers) disgusting and it spoiled my appetite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
i halved the recipe, had only 1 small chicken liver and used only a sprinkling of the spices but it tasted great! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Wonderful, authentic recipe. Served to our minister who is from Baton Rouge... he thought it was like his Mom's. Omitted the gizzards, and it was just fine. None of the northerners knew what the meat bits were, and were shocked that they liked it when we told them :-). I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very nice, Sha!! Excellent flavor, LOVED IT!!! Will make again and again!! Rated 4 stars b/c the Trinity (onion, bell pepper & celery) was not used. Why no celery, Sha? For those that want to sub sausage, I highly recommend using ANDOUILLE Sausage; it's a Louisiana sausage, most large supermarkets will carry it. If y'all find the gizzards too tough, boil them first. I pulse livers (and gizzards if I use them) in the food processor, as I like finer pieces rather than a rough chop. Bacon drippings (or butter if no drippings) are soooo good, Sha, instead of oil!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
LOVE this recipe! super simple but very tasty. i substituted the gizzards and livers for 1 lb. ground beef (i'm a wuss, i know)...used beef drippings in place of oil and red pepper flakes and a bit of chili powder in place of the cayenne. it was delicious, and it smelled wonderful while it was cooking. microwaved leftovers for 2 1/2 mins. for a quick and easy lunch at the office. thank you for sharing this recipe, i will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benton, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States