Southern Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Nice affordable dish. My family enjoyed it. I did cut back on the broth. I only used 2 cups. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was really good and reminded me of my granmothers dirty rice which she would cook around the holidays. I was almost traumatized by the sight of blended livers but moved on and was able to eat it!! this has flavors you dont eat very often..:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I have never had dirty rice before and it's great. Only, is the rice suppose to be mushy? I followed the recipes exactly and the rice ended up really soft, more like a porridge. Next time, I will use 1 cup of broth to 1 cup of white rice - of course, the amount of liquid should depend on the type of white so I would go by the rice cooking instruction and not by how much liquid is called for in this recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Like some other people, I also added celery and bell pepper. Instead of livers or gizzard I added Spicy Italian Sausage and a little hamburger. I did not add cayenne since I am using Spicy Sausage. I also am sauteing the veggies in the fat from the meat instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
good recipe for dirty rice. just not my favorite dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very good base recipe to add extra incredients to suite your taste. Instead of putting the chicken livers in a blender, I sauteed them and then just used a potato masher in the skillet to break up but not smash. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
It was delish, affordable and delishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
My husband and I are not big fans of liver or gizzards so I added 1 lb of spicy sausage and chicken breasts cubed. So delicious! Just the right amount of spice and really hearty with brown rice. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadagoat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Cresson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Really good but spicy, watch the cayenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I love this dish. I have never been in the south, am not familiar with southern cooking, but this rice is amazing. Serve with lots of pickled everything (pickled cucumbers, marinated tomatoes, green and black olives, giardiniera salad, pepperoncini peppers)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States