Southern Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Great! I don't like rice, but loved this. I made it with pork sausage since no one in the house likes those particular chicken parts. I came out amazing! It's so good, we are having it again tomorrow so the kids can have it! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This dirty rice was very authentic tasting and I loved it! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I like many, substituted the liver and gizzards with ground beef since its what I had handy. It turned out delicious and my husband raved about it. I will try it next time with chicken livers. Hubby said it was better than Popeyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phatchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is some good stuff! My family has this dish at every gathering. The only thing we do differant is use real butter instead of cooking oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wallis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I love love love this recipe...Left out the gizzards and it was just fine...cant imagine it tasting any better than this!!!! Better than Popeye's!!!! OMG this recipe is a keeper : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tryna b a Chef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
My Grandma used to make this, but I had no idea how. Wow! This took me back 40 years : ) I have made this recipe several times and it is great. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruffhousin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehouse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
GREAT recipe!!!! This was a wonderful & easy recipe all in one! The only thing I added different was Jimmy Deans hot breakfast sausage and cut up jalapeno's. I cooked the sausage and broke it up into the cooked meat. My family and I will be saying GOODBYE to Tony Chachere's forever! Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Galloway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe...my family love it. This is the third time I've made it and they hoover it up. Thanks a lot for posting it...nothing like southern rice in New Zealand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This is okay, but true dirty rice doesn't use green onion. Green onion is for salads or decoration. It should also have celery. That is one of the MAIN ingredients. It's cooked with the livers. Gizzards should not be in this, it makes it gritty. Deep fry the gizzards as a side, much better as side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States