Southern Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is the best one yet. I added a stalk of celery and 2 tbsp. of cilantro and it came out really good. My 5 year old even asked for more and of course she didn't know that there were gizzards and livers in it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
It was,so easy...But, I did not use liver and I added red peppers...I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Let's just say that this wasn't quite for me with as much liver as it asked for. The rice and everything else was cooked very nicely but next time I'll adjust the meat used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
"AWESOME" IS TRULY THE ONLY WAY TO DESCRIBE THIS RECIPE... My granny is deceased & this put me right back in her kitchen. Made this twice first time exactly as recipe says. Second time no chicken livers, I used Italian turkey sausage......Finger Licking Gooood. Thank you for this reminder of Big Momma's House
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamia Mitchell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I grew up in New Orleans and dirty rice was always a staple dish that was comforting and filling. It is good to finally find a recipe that gets it. I did make a few changes so that this would more closely mimic the rice I grew up with and loved. The rice my mom, aunts, and grandmother made always had bits of chicken in it, ground beef, and more seasonings. So here is what I did: I seasoned 1 bone-in chicken breast and 1 chicken thigh with Old Bay seasoning and then baked them, shredded them and added to the cooked gizzard/liver mixture. I added some browned ground beef. I also added some sauteed green peppers and diced celery. I did everything else the same and this was a winner. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by souppotsie
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This was a winner with my hungry boys! Used mild sausage and ground beef. Also added two ears of corn and two small tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I am so glad I tried this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it was totally delicious. Next time I make it I will leave out the gizzards (too much trouble). When I reheated it I drizzled about 1 tsp of oil from a jar of hot giardinara. Wow, just plain delicious. Thank you Kathleen for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was gorgeous, sans onions. Unfortunately, the knowledge of what was in it was so off putting, with the help of a critical teen who'd walked in while I was cooking, it was spoiled for me! Neighbours & friends who didn't know the ingredients, adored it too. Next time I'll use ground chicken because the flavour is truly outstanding for those with less squeamish stomachs & fewer graphic teens who love to ruin dinner for everybody. Thanks for the recipe. I'll use it again & again with straight ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Divine! Tastes like New Orleans. Chicken livers are key to the success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
We too wanted to like this dish better (it has so many high ratings.) I found it not enough broth to cook the rice...I think the other ingredients absorbed too much of the liquid. I had to add more broth. Anyway, we've had better dirty rice, but thought we'd try this one for a change. Won't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States