Southern Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I have made this recipe as it is written three times since I found it a couple of months ago. It is absolutely delicious! The sour cream really cuts down on the heavy mayo flavor that is in most salads. I believe the celery salt and dill are imperative. I understand leaving things out or adding things because of a personal preference but I wish those that made modifications would not rate recipes. Sometimes leaving out something minor could make a big difference. Trust me, spend the couple extra bucks to buy all of the ingredients for this and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was the BEST potatoe salad I have ever made. I did not deviate from the recipe at all and it was FABULOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is almost the same potato salad I made this weekend. I added 1 T of yellow mustard in addition to the dijon, as well as a tsp of worcestershire, a tsp of fresh lemon juice and I used FRESH dill, instead of dried (1/4 of a cup). I also think it's easier and faster to cube the potatoes before cooking... boil about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
It’s so difficult to indicate precise measurements when writing out a recipe for someone. Tastes vary, sizes of fresh ingredients vary, and sometimes we just use “a little of this and a little of that.” But somehow, however, the submitter has it just right. She’s got the perfect measurements of each of the ingredients. I wouldn’t alter that a bit. But while I didn’t change anything (except for using a couple less eggs and fresh, rather than dried dill) I did add some things to dress it up a bit. Some thinly sliced radishes, sliced green onion, a few slices of cooked and crumbled bacon, about 2 T. creamy horseradish sauce and some Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt really made the flavor pop and made a good potato salad even better. My favorite part of this recipe is the half and half mixture of sour cream and mayonnaise. It was creamy and still had a slight tang from the mayo without it being overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
First, let me say I made this recipe twice... Once exactly as written, then with a few tweaks. The secret of this recipe is, of course, the dressing. It is very good as is. But on my second try, I doubled the mustard... even better! Yes, use the entire tablespoon of dill, it's perfect! I did prefer a little more celery, onion (Vidalia), and egg. But I'm not changing the dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this for a large group (50 people) and received rave reviews. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used celery seed instead of celery salt since I didn't have any. It was the perfect potato salad, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I took the recipe submitter's advice and made this potato salad the night before so it would have time to set until dinner the following evening. My two sons helped me make this salad from start to finish. I made a few small changes due to what I had on hand--I increased the celery to two large stalks, green onions instead of white, used Beau Monde seasoning instead of celery salt (Beau Monde seasoning is basically celery salt and onion powder) and because my son asked, I threw in about six chopped garlic dills. This was quite good, though I think it could use a little more spicing up. Next time I make this, I think I'll add some garlic powder, chives and a little Frank's Hot Sauce. As is, quite good. The amounts of mayo/sour cream were absolutely spot on. I'm glad that the submitter added the footnote about making it ahead of time. I think that's what makes this salad. My sons and I really enjoyed making this together and we all (me especially) appreciated the ease of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I have been trying and trying to make a good potato salad and finally I have a recipe that has helped me do that. I did make a few changes based on my taste...I left out the celery salt and onion. I used yellow mustard instead of dijon and used celery seed instead of real celery, both of these substitutions were because I didn't have the actual called-for ingredients on hand. I was so happy with the way this turned out..by far the best potato salad I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Great potato salad! Loved all the flavors in this. I did have to make some substitutions based off of what I did or didn't have. I used onion powder instead of onions, and celery seed instead of celery. I also left out the celery salt. This will definitely become my standard potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Excellent flavor - a hit at the cookout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~chele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States