Southern Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Really excellent stuff! I went a little heavy on the dijon, just because I love the stuff, but stuck to the receipe and everyone stated it was the best potato salad ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah&Jimmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this for a Memorial Day pot-luck for work. Although, at this writing, I haven't tried it yet, I found it a bit dry when mixing it all together. I mixed some additional dressing ingredients together and added it in, and it looks just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I took the recipe submitter's advice and made this potato salad the night before so it would have time to set until dinner the following evening. My two sons helped me make this salad from start to finish. I made a few small changes due to what I had on hand--I increased the celery to two large stalks, green onions instead of white, used Beau Monde seasoning instead of celery salt (Beau Monde seasoning is basically celery salt and onion powder) and because my son asked, I threw in about six chopped garlic dills. This was quite good, though I think it could use a little more spicing up. Next time I make this, I think I'll add some garlic powder, chives and a little Frank's Hot Sauce. As is, quite good. The amounts of mayo/sour cream were absolutely spot on. I'm glad that the submitter added the footnote about making it ahead of time. I think that's what makes this salad. My sons and I really enjoyed making this together and we all (me especially) appreciated the ease of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
It’s so difficult to indicate precise measurements when writing out a recipe for someone. Tastes vary, sizes of fresh ingredients vary, and sometimes we just use “a little of this and a little of that.” But somehow, however, the submitter has it just right. She’s got the perfect measurements of each of the ingredients. I wouldn’t alter that a bit. But while I didn’t change anything (except for using a couple less eggs and fresh, rather than dried dill) I did add some things to dress it up a bit. Some thinly sliced radishes, sliced green onion, a few slices of cooked and crumbled bacon, about 2 T. creamy horseradish sauce and some Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt really made the flavor pop and made a good potato salad even better. My favorite part of this recipe is the half and half mixture of sour cream and mayonnaise. It was creamy and still had a slight tang from the mayo without it being overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Delicious as written. I used a one less potato, just because I love the juicy sauce and wanted to slather the potatoes with it! Creamy with a bit of tartness, and love that this has a less mayonnaisey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia
Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Made it for a birthday bbq last weekend and it was a hit! I only used about 3 or 4 eggs because 5 just seems too much. I also did a little s&p on the potatoes before mixing in the dressing. Didnt have Dijon mustard so I had to use normal mustard but next time I will pick up some Dijon for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCarter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
it was real good but next time i'm going to add more mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This is one of the best tasting potato salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Great! My mom would loves salads said this is her favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Very good! I left out the celery, just don't like it in potato salad. It needed to be a little "saucier" the next day so I used some heavy cream. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States