Southern Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Great creamy tasty potato salad, I did omit the onions because our guest can't eat them, so I put in extra celery and one chopped dill pickle. Used garden fresh chopped dill. My potatoes were medium in size and I was afraid the amount of mayo and sour cream was going to be too much, but ended up using it all for a nice creamy perfect texture. I only made it four hours before eating it and was perfectly fine and our guest loved it. Bet the leftovers today will be even better, especially since I'll toss some onions in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Simply amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delicious! I don't normally like potato salad. It tends to be too mayonnaisey and heavy for me. But this is much lighter than most recipes and has a wonderful, unique flavor! I brought it to a work potluck, and everyone loved it. I followed to recipe exactly, but I used light mayo and sour cream. I'm really grossed out by "diety" tasting things, but everything worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I tried this, not expecting it to live up to the good reviews I read; I was so pleasantly surprised!! This is very good. Well worth making and sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
my husband's fav potato salad ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This potato salad is such an amazing crowd pleaser. I served it at a recent barbecue to rave reviews from everyone. Will definitely make this my go-to for a delicious and easy potato salad!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I so wish my newly potted dill plant hadn't bit the dust this early into summer; I would have favored this salad even more utilizing fresh dill. The dressing is one of the most well-rounded blends of mayo, sour cream, vinegar and dijon I've had the pleasure of tasting so far this bbq / picnic season -- not one particular flavor stood out. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is a very good potato salad. The best thing is you can adjust the amount of ingredients to your family portion size. I used daisy light sour cream, a little red onion, celery seeds and grey poupon mustard. I did not have celery on hand. I made this salad enough for two people but I also kept the same amount of creamy sour cream/mayonnaise sauce because I really think this makes the potato salad plus the FRESH dill. I added and tasted as I stirred the ingredients and eyeballed the rest according to my tastes. I chopped up the FRESH dill, used 1T, added it to the sauce, poured it over the potato and egg and mixed it altgether, chilled all day until ready to serve. I do suggest making this ahead of time to allow for the sauce and dill to set and flavors to blend well. Makes a big difference. This had a nice creamy consistency with a slight tang which I loved. A keeper in my book! UPDATE: Absolutely delicious potato salad! The more you let it sit ahead of time in the refrigerator the better the tastes. I could taste the fresh dill, creamy sauce with potatoes and eggs. going to make again. a hit in my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Really excellent stuff! I went a little heavy on the dijon, just because I love the stuff, but stuck to the receipe and everyone stated it was the best potato salad ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah1185

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this for a Memorial Day pot-luck for work. Although, at this writing, I haven't tried it yet, I found it a bit dry when mixing it all together. I mixed some additional dressing ingredients together and added it in, and it looks just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States