Southern Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Made as directed but accidentally bought celery seed instead of celery salt. It was really good, but kept thinking it needed something more...like thinly sliced radish. If you have a party to go to, you can trust this recipe as is and be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelbug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
I use this recipe all the time. Because I do not like raw onion, I cook the potatoes with a fair portion of vidalia onion. I skip the eggs, and use lots of fresh celery when I do not have celery salt. Dill and sour cream make it the best ever. Also I have used \yukon gold and russets as well as red potatoes. Yummy every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by margoclimpson
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Love this recipe! I use fresh dill from the garden and my 2 year old grandson asks for this dish. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
This was the most amazing potato salad I have ever eaten. Normally I don't care for it but this recipe was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Made this just as recipe said for the 4th of July, it was great. 4 stars because I don't see why the recipe says to cut the potatoes after boiling instead of beforehand. Will definitely make again, with a dash of dried mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CH225
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Amazing potato salad. I did make a few changes. Due to a celery allergy I did not use celery or celery salt. I added smoked paprika and spicy brown mustard (to add a little kick) with the Dijon. I prefer to cube my potatoes and boil them in seasoned water for about 15min so the potatoes are flavorful! Amazing recipe even with my minor tweaks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I used fresh dill since it's growing in my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I will never make my boring potato salad again, this was the best I've ever had. Will make this my new recipe every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Rolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I made this recipe many times and follow it exactly as indicated. I do add some crispy crumbled bacon, and sometimes fresh chives and extra dill, but that is a personal preference. The 1/2 mayo 1/2 sour cream makes this a killer potato salad, and starting from the basics of this recipe you can tweak it to your liking. This is a keeper of a recipe, and following it to the letter won't steer you wrong. everyone I serve it do loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McLellan
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
This potato salad recipe is just awesome. I used any old type of potato and it came out great. I also did not use the egg, but may the next time. My husband, who is fussy about food in general, and my parents, who aren't really the mayonnaise type, loved this as well. They enjoyed the tanginess from the sour cream. What a hit this was!In fact, I just emailed Mom the recipe for tomorrow Father's Day BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup-to-Nuts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States