Southern Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Delicious! Perfect if you don't want a heavy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I don't typically like potato salad... and I quite enjoy this one! The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, and I thought the sour cream was what really made it outstanding. The second time I made it, I was going to be serving it to someone with a dairy allergy, so I had to use all mayo. Although I went ahead with the recipe, I was unsure if it would be as good without the sour cream. So I was very pleasantly surprised to find that it was still an excellent potato salad that everyone enjoyed! I would probably still prefer to make the sour cream version, if given a choice, but leaving it out is perfectly acceptable as well. Thanks for a recipe that made me give potato salad a second glance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I love potato salads with eggs, and this is the best recipe I have found! Very yummy! My go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is probably the best potato salad I've had. I did make a few modifications since I don't like celery. I used 2 dill pickle spears instead of celery, and I used 1/4 cup fresh dill instead of dried dill because I love fresh dill. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This was wonderful, I followed the recipe almost exactly - I used fresh dill instead of dried. Reminds me of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Made this twice. I left out the sour cream and doubled the mayo the first time. Second time, I used sour cream and mayo (3/4 cup of each). My family prefers mayo only...try it without the sour cream and see which one you like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
delicious! Couldn't even wait for it to cool down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used fresh dill (I love dill and used quite a bit, to suit my taste) and I didn't have a white onion on hand but a red onion. Also, just because I like pickles in my potato salads, I chopped up a few baby dills, just for some additional "crunch" (although the celery does a fine job of adding texture). My potato salad was "scarfed down" at the recent 4th of July BBQ. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Great recipe! I made this as written for a family dinner, with the exception of fresh dill instead dried, and I had russet potatoes on hand, which I roughly peeled and cut before boiling. The salad was fantastic, even my mother loved it, and asked for the recipe - and she's been making it "her" way for 40+ years! Mom and I agreed the sour cream is a great addition, it takes out the oily texture of just mayo versions. The salad is light and the if you love dill like I do, it really showcases it. Thank you for sharing the wonderful recipe, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I did not follow the recipe as is. I did not add the eggs, vinegar, or mustard. I am not a fan of vinegar in potato salad. With these changes, I would give this recipe 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kklimesh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maquoketa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States