Southern Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Yup--loved it! Comfort food at its best. I only used half of my cornbread and it still made enough to feed an army. I added steamed green beans for a one-dish meal. Great way to use up leftover turkey--I shredded mine in the food processor. I used parsley, sage, thyme, pepper and garlic powder and was generous on the amounts for the herbs. Thanks!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
i made this recipe with only one adjustment I used oven roasted turkey. This was the best I have ever made. I am making it for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I have made this recipe twice, and it has been a big hit twice!!! I made a few minor adjustments; I omitted the bread altogether,(used more cornbread), added a 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper and cooked about 15 mins longer. Very easy and very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This stuffing is wonderful! I'll use this recipe from now on. I was skeptical about the eggs, but followed recipe, and I'm glad I did. It looked like mush when I put it in the oven but came out light and yummy. I made for Thanksgiving so I didn't add the chicken. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Overall it is a good recipe. But I thought it lacked depth of flavor. I thought it could have used a bit more of something, namely sage, and perhaps something else. In truth I made this over two days, since I had a lot of things to make and only one oven in which to make them. So I ended up using chicken broth rather than the chicken stock from the breasts. Also a 1 lb loaf each of white bread and cornbread are going to require a HUGE mixing bowl. I ended up having to mix everything in a big pot that is normally used for chili. After mixing everything up, I put it into two baking dishes (nearly twice the suggested servings although I made it pretty close to the recipe) and put it into the fridge to store for baking the next day. In the end I found out that my family prefers the traditional white bread dressing, so I won't be making this one again. is' good just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This stuffing recipe was a hit this thanksgiving with my family. Holly, thank you for sharing. This is only my second time cooking for thanksgiving and it was a success. I prepared following the recipe only change I used store purchased chicken broth and added a little extra. I'm shy in the kitchen so bringing this recipe to life was amazing for me. I greatly appreciate all the reviews it helps me tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Too much poultry seasoning. Too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made this recipe last week, and it is the best dressing ever! I used only 1/2 a loaf of bread, and only 3 eggs. I did not include the chicken, because I will have a turkey with it.I am making 2 more pans today for Thanksgiving tomorrow. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Excellent dressing. I see the debate over true southern dressing having white bread or not. My family is from KY and are true southern cooks through and through. Some of the women add white bread and some don't so there is not just one "southern way" I did not make any changes to the recipe and it is delicious. Can't wait for all of the southern ladies in my family to rate this next to theirs. I made it the day before and baked it the day I served it and everyone loved it. I was not sure I would like the chicken and almost left it out, glad I didn't. The only thing I did different than the recipe was baked it about 20 min longer than the recipe called for since my dish was cold. Next time I will increase the bake time by a little more. Another keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
eggs make it way too heavy and we all hate canned soup. I will stick with my old recipe it's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Cotie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States