Southern Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This recipe is great i added maple pan sausage along with the shredded chicken, and it turned out GREAT! I also sauteed my onions and celery in butter so they would be soft and not crunchy,(cause my family is VERY particular about onions! LOL All in all this is a very GREAT recipe ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
absolutely delicious, best i ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Thanks to this recipe I have been designated as the "bringer of the dressing" by my mother-in-law. I used two large cans of chicken breast, including the liquid, with three cups of canned chicken broth. I upped the onion and celery, one large, sweet onion and six stalks of celery. I baked at 325 for one about 50 minutes. The extra ingredients allowed me to bake my Dad (the dressing nazi) his own small loaf. For my Dad to eat and enjoy any dressing besides my Mom's is AMAZING! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Grayson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Last year I had to make the dressing for our family Thanksgiving celebration for about 40 people. I had never made dressing before and search the internet for a recipe. I selected this one. It was pretty easy and very tasty, even if I do say so myself. I received alot of compliments and 2 requests for the recipe. I'll admit that I didn't use a whole loaf of bread in the recipe; as I was mixing everything together it just didn't seem like it needed a whole loaf. The only problem I had was that I had put the dressing in a deep dish to bake and it took longer to bake than the 30 minutes listed on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I loved this recipe. It was my first time making stuffing and it turned out perfect. Sometimes you get stuffing that is too mushy or too dry this was just right. My family loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Just like grandma made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I love this. My 5 year old son helped and he loved it too. It was a hit for the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Outstanding southern dressing. I ALWAYS cook my cornbread in an iron skillet . It just gives that something extra. I added chicken bouillon granules to my cornbread mix before baking and left off the bread as my family doesnt like pasty dressing. I made a gravy out of the broth , flour , oil and cream of chicken soup and we ate this for 3 days !! YUM ! best dressing ever .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the kcross
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is my first time making dressing other than from the box...BOY was it good, I doctored it up a little by adding sausage, and a lil brown sugar I haven't been cooking from recipes long so I didn't measure the sugar it was abouth 1/4 of a cup and 1/2 pound sausage. This dressing is exactly what I wanted for Thanksgiving but a couple days later is good for me! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the kcross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This recipe is much like mine, except for I use the stewed meat of a whole chicken, not breast meat which adds more flavor to the dressing. I also use butter not margarine. Happy Cooking from one Southern Gal who LOVES her Great Grandmomma's Dressing recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Girl
Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States