Southern Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My Best Friend Past Away A Few Years Ago And This Is The Closest To Her Cornbread Stuffing I Can Get .. It Came Out Really Moist .. I Loved It ... Used It For Christmas .. i Recommend You All Try This One . Sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Harvey, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Absolutely fantastic recipe!!! The only change I made was to mix by hand, rather than a potato masher. It gave a chunkier stuffing . . . which I love! It was GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This dressing was a hit at my house; it was moist, the way we like it, and had the most wonderful flavor. I omitted the bread and used corn bread only, and also used 1 cup onion, 1 cup celery, wonderful, is all I can say. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
The eggs was kind of weird, to me, so I did not use; I also made 2 pans of actual cornbread and used no bread (also strange to this Southerner). I put my onion, celery, and a can of corn in the food processor and pulsed til teeny-tiny, so each nite of dressing would have veggies in it. Had to take 2 stars away for each weird ingredient (in my mind casserole has eggs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I made this recipe this weekend. I made a couple of additions. I added 1 container of Swanson's chicken stock. Instead of using half cornbread and half loaf bread, I made it from a whole pan of cornbread. Overall, the recipe came out well. I scaled it back to make 9 servings. I used rotisserie chicken in the mixture. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was great! The only thing I added that, to me, makes it actually Southern was ground sage. 2 teaspoonsful. You can add it to your taste but this is a really good recipe! If you don't have celery, used cream of celery soup and a little celery salt and it will be just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Exactly what I was looking for. I made a thin gravy from the chicken broth & it was good with or without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I scaled this back to 9 servings, and made a few changes without compromising the original recipe as written. S a last minute addition, I used one small 6oz can of cooked chicken, an additional egg than the scaled version required-i used 1/2 loaf of white wheat bread & leftover frozen cornbread, so I thought it may have dried out a bit. I ended up using 3cups of ready to serve broth and 1cup of whole milk. I also dotted some butter on top of the 9x13" pan before cooking it @375 for 25mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is THE cornbread dressing for all holiday dinners. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious! My first time ever making cornbread dressing, my family loved it!! I only used about half a loaf of bread and 4 cups of broth. Cooking time about 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States